“The Happening” – your thoughts?

17 Jun

Everyone’s talking – both good and bad…OK, mostly bad – about M. Night Shyamalan’s new film, “The Happening.”

Have you seen it yet? What did you think?

I still haven’t seen it, but about a month ago I read a spoiler from someone who saw a rough cut. So, yeah, I know what “the happening” is. After I read what it is, I couldn’t believe it. I mean – really??

I still want to see it, though!

I loved “The Sixth Sense.”
I loved “Unbreakable.”
I loved “Signs.”
I even loved “The Village.”
He lost me with “Lady in the Water.” I can find the most boring things interesting, but I found nothing interesting about that one.

So, dear M. Night is four out of five with me – still in my good favor.

But I’m curious to see if “The Happening” is just as bad as they say it is. I mean, it only got a 21 percent at RottenTomatoes!

And now Shyamalan is calling “The Happening” a “b-movie” – not a good thing to do after getting pounded with bad reviews. Besides, I thought this was some terrifying R-rated scarefest – not a “fun b-movie.”

So, talk back to me:

Have you seen it? What did you think?

Will you stay away? If so, why?

Please indicate any spoilers in your comments!!

2 Responses to ““The Happening” – your thoughts?”

  1. JRAY June 19, 2008 at 7:30 am #

    The Happening looks like a cool movie from the previews.. i haven’t seen it yet… and haven’t heard of anyone going to see it…

  2. sheenabarnett June 19, 2008 at 8:45 am #

    The only people I know who are going to see it — who are, admittedly, me and my friend — just want to go to see what all the fuss is about, and maybe even get a few laughs out of it.

    But yeah, the previews make it look awesome. Guess we’ll just have to see!

Leave a Reply

