Summer Film Series Begins Tonight in Oxford

13 Jun

By Melanie Addington

Yac and Oxford Film Festival announced their new summer film series to be held at the Powerhouse. Along with the movie, concessions from The Main Squeeze Juice Bar will be available. Ron Shapiro, the operator of legendary Hoka theatre, a supporter of both arts groups has agreed to serve as emcee.

Tonight is “War Eagle, Arkansas” starring Brian Dennehy at 7:00 p.m. The movie is an incredible story that is actually based on true life events. The producer, Vincent Insalaco, will be at the screening and will do a Q&A afterwards. The film has been on the festival circuit recently and last month won the Reely Award at the Tupelo Film Festival.

On July 11 is “We Are Wizards,” a documentary on Harry Potter fandom, primarily looking at the wizard rock bands that have sprung up after the books and movies.

On August 8, the series will wrap with a special treat in Oxford with Ole Miss Alum Tate Taylor’s film, “Pretty Ugly People” starring Missi Pyle of Boston Legal and Melissa McCarthy of Samantha Who and Gilmore Girls.

All movies will be held at the Powerhouse with the $5 tickets sold at the door. Doors open at 6 p.m. with movie starting at 7.

One Response to “Summer Film Series Begins Tonight in Oxford”

  1. kim June 16, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    Those who failed to participate in the summer film festival on Friday missed a real treat! “War Eagle, Arkansas” is one of the most poignant films I have seen in a long time. I was dissapointed when I couldn’t attend the Tupelo Film Festival cause I really wanted to see this particular film. I was so excited when I read here about the opportunity to view it in Oxford that I made sure I was there. My best friend and I were wipping tears at the end of it and I noticed a few others in the crowd trying to slyly do the same! I am going to try to attend a few other times this summer even though I don’t live in the Oxford area. Thank you, YAC and Oxford Film Festival for this opportunity!!!

Leave a Reply

