Pick my next book

12 Jun

So I’m having a tough time picking the next book I read, and I wondered if I could get suggestions by you, gentle Scene reader.

The way I see it, if I love some piece of art or pop culture – say, a good movie, a good book, a good TV show, a good album – I like to suggest it to others. Kind of like “Pay it Forward,” or something like that.

Hear me out…

Let’s go through the last several books I read, because those will give you an idea of what I’m looking for.

Really, my problems started a while back, when I read “The Historian” by Elizabeth Kostova.

LOVE, love, love this book. I’ll spare you the synopsis, but I love how Amazon.com reviews it: “If your pulse flutters at the thought of castle ruins and descents into crypts by moonlight, you will savor every creepy page of Elizabeth Kostova’s long but beautifully structured thriller The Historian.”

The 650-ish page book is thick with details and plot twists, full of history and vampire lore. I loved it. I never thought I was the giant sweeping novel kind of person, but this convinced me otherwise.

Then I found “The Thirteenth Tale” by Diane Setterfield. It’s like “The Historian” in that it’s a long story full of history, secrets, suspense and ghosts.

Finally I found Stephenie Meyer’s “Twilight” series.

It’s a young adult series that follows a love triangle between Bella, a normal teenage girl, Edward, a vampire and Jacob, a werewolf. The series doesn’t have quite the sweeping epic feel of “The Historian” or “The Thirteenth Tale,” but the supernatural elements are there.

Also, I love love love Joe Hill (also known as Stephen King’s son). I loved both “Heart-Shaped Box” and “20th Century Ghosts.” Now, I’m in love with (and scared to death by) his new comic book series, “Locke & Key.”

In between reading these books, I’ve been reading Jeff Lindsay’s “Dexter” series that inspired the Showtime show of the same name. There are three ‘Dexter’ books: “Darkly Dreaming Dexter,” “Dearly Devoted Dexter” and “Dexter in the Dark.”

I’ve got about another 100 pages on “Dexter in the Dark,” and then I’m done with it.

Basically I’m looking for something with some gothic suspense, maybe a murder or vampire or two, something like that. Maybe even some kind of giant epic sweep-y-ness to it.

So, what do I read next? I have no idea.

What do you suggest? If you know of a book that in any way relates to the ones I’ve mentioned, pass it on! Thanks!

3 Responses to “Pick my next book”

  1. Myra June 13, 2008 at 7:10 am #

    Please check out author Lynsay Sands. I am now reading The Accidental Vampire (An Argeneau Novel). In light of your tastes, I guarantee you will love it!

  2. galenholley June 13, 2008 at 11:23 pm #

    Sheena, thanks for the raccoon info. I was in Oxford today at the mosque. Enjoyed myself. Ah, to back at Ole Miss! Nothing like it. As for recomending your next book, how about one I picked up at Square Books today: “Bats Out of Hell” by Barry Hannah, or a collection of essays by Larry Brown, “Billy Ray’s Farm”
    Peace, Galen

  3. sheenabarnett June 15, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    Hi Myra — thanks for the suggestion! It sounds pretty cool! 🙂

    Ah, Galen, how I miss Ole Miss too. 🙂 I need to brush up on my Barry Hannah so he may get picked up as well.

Leave a Reply

