In My Queue – “Sunset Boulevard,” “Heavenly Creatures”

12 Jun

More from the Movies-Sheena-Should’ve-Seen-By-Now files…

While vacationing in Memphis a month ago, I saw the 1950 classic “Sunset Boulevard” on sale for $10 at Target. A classic movie for $10? Talk about a steal.

Without revealing too much I think I can tell you this about the plot: Norma Desmond (Gloria Swanson) is an aging silent film star with hopes to get back into the movies. She meets a hack screenwriter, Joe (William Holden), and pulls him into her deranged world.

I won’t say much else – don’t want to ruin it!

This is a film noir, so I had a lot of fun with it. There are some absolutely sensational shots and even better dialogue. Oh, how I wish screenwriters today still wrote like this.

Speaking of – it ends with the legendary line: “Alright, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up.” Cuh-lassic.

Here’s the trailer:

Another thriller, but decades later…

So I finally saw “Heavenly Creatures.” Again, without giving away too much, the film follows two best friends, Juliet (Kate Winslet, in her debut film role) and Pauline (Melanie Lynskey), who become obsessed with both each other and a fantasy world they create. When their parents try to separate the girls, everything goes awry.

I was surprised to learn this was a true story, which makes this movie even more chilling.

Peter Jackson of “Lord of the Rings” fame directed this, and I thought he did a phenomenal job. It was awesome to be in the girls’ fantasy world – it definitely helped understand their madness.

Here’s the trailer:

(sorry for the broken link!)

These may be my last few movies I watch for a while, because now I’m renting the seasons of HBO’s “Six Feet Under.” I’m a huge fan of Michael C. Hall, so I’m really enjoying the show so far.

Leave a Reply

