Fashion: My Lip Gloss is Poppin’

10 Jun

Welcome to another Fashion piece on Scene Now.

Sorry, guys, this post is for chicks only…

I love make-up of all kind, but my very favorite make-up to buy is lip gloss, lipstick, lip blam…anything to do with making my smile all the better.

It’s the last thing I put on before I go out, but it’s hands down the most important.

There are two things in this world I cannot live without: my iPod and my lip gloss

Anyway, I thought I’d share my favorite brands and colors.

Share yours, too.

Black Honey Almost Lipstick by Clinique

Perfect. Shade. Ever.
This color of gloss is literally the color that looks good on everybody, no matter their skin tone.
And the cool thing about this gloss is that you can control the color. Dash on one coat for a sheer tint, or thicken it for a darker shade.
You can buy Almost Lipstick at any Clinique counter, the Clinique Web site or Sephora.com.
Don’t be surprised if they’re sold out of Black Honey – just shop other counters or buy it online.
A tube costs $14.

Lip Venom


Chances are, this is one of your favorites, too.
Lip Venom by DuWop uses a blend of oils to get a rise out of the blood vessels in your lips, plumping them up.
It’s super-tingly and warm, and comes in various shades and sparkles. If warm and tingly isn’t for you, try Lip Venom 2nd Sin, which uses a cooling effect to plump.
Does it hurt? Yeah, a little, but it’s well worth it. πŸ™‚ People are still talking about this gloss 10 years after it was introduced, so you know it’s good.
A .12 ounce Lip Venom costs $16, and you can buy it at the DuWop Web site or at Sephora.com

Lip Balms by C.O. Bigelow Apothecaries

I decided to try a few from this line, and I’ve been pleased with all of these.
My favorites:

No. 1420, Lemon Lip Cream (above) – It’s got a delicious lemonade scent, and it’s super glossy but not sticky.
No. 1190, Cinnamint Mentha Lip Shine – It uses a mix of cinnamon and peppermint to give a cooling sensation. It swears it helps with fresh breath, but I can’t promise that. But use it with Lip Venom, since they both use cinnamon, for a super-tingly feel. I use this probably the most out of any other gloss I own. It’s great as an every-day gloss.
No. 303, My Favorite Lip Balm – This is your most basic lip balm. It doesn’t offer much shine, so I usually use it on days when I’m not going for an ultra-glossy look.
I’ve also used a lip buffer that uses sugar crystals to buff chapped lips. It works really well.
A tube – depending on what you buy – runs anywhere from $5 to $7.50. They’re selling now at Bath & Body Works, and you can buy them from the company’s Web site.

L’Oreal Infallible Never Fail Lip Gloss

I’ve expressed my love for this one already. It stays on for a good six hours (assuming you don’t do anything too crazy like eat something ultra-messy), and it’s like a stain without feeling too sticky. Plus that shade “Fiery” is to. die. for. Pick up a tube for less than $10 at your favorite drugstore.

Lip Nutrition Honey Rescue Balm by Neutrogena

I might be saving the best for last here.
This is the sweetest-tasting, best shine lip gloss ever. It says it hydrates your lips, etc. Whatever. I just love the shine. It stays on super long and, again, that shine is worth every penny.
The only downside is that it comes in a pot – I wish it came with some kind of applicator so you can brush it on when you’re on the go.
I can’t remember how much it is but I’d say around $7, and you can pick it up at the drugstore of your choice.

Share your favorites!

8 Responses to “Fashion: My Lip Gloss is Poppin’”

  1. tupelobizbuzz June 10, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    OooOOoooeee, Sheena. A topic near and dear to my heart. I’m such a product junkie.

    I’ve heard heaps about the Black Honey collection from Clinique, but I haven’t tried it yet. Everyone always says a shade looks good on everyone, but they seem to leave out redheads. And, that’s why we have our own line call Just for Redheads. I’ll check out Clinique’s stuff next time I’m at the mall. Sephora is running a good special and it could be worth it.

    Woohoo for Lip Venom. I’ve been using a plumper from Skin Effects (bought at CVS) and I need to get something else.

    My ultimate go-to for lip moisture is Aquaphor. It works miracles. And does it quickly. It also acts as a hand and body moisturizer. Works good on feet as well. The only drawback is it comes in a pot or a big tube – no little purse applicators.

    Another good chapstick/lipgloss is Burt’s Bees in pomegranate.

    Now my turn for a question – I need a summer toenail polish that is office appropriate. Any ideas?

  2. tupelobizbuzz June 10, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    Point of clarification – the Skin Effects plumper is wonderful. Gives me quite the trout pout. But, I’ve used it up and, alas, there is no CVS in Tupelo. Soooo, I’m going to try something new.

  3. hannahdonegan June 12, 2008 at 11:24 am #

    Awesome!

    We’ve discussed mine, but I want to add Neutrogena’s tinted lip balms to the list. Really flattering colors and actually make your lips feel nice.

  4. Joanie June 13, 2008 at 11:32 am #

    if you’re a lip fanatic, then you shouldn’t be living without this brush.

    http://www.sallybeauty.com/Retractable%20Lip%20Brush/SBS-249100,default,pd.htm

    it’s retractable, so you don’t get purse goo on it and it’s metal so it’s super durable. can’t remember how much it costs but i do know that i caught them on a buy one get one sale at the store on main once. happy glossing!

    l

  5. Joanie June 13, 2008 at 11:34 am #

    cut the l from the bottom to the end of the link. sorry…

  6. sheenabarnett June 15, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    Joanie — Ohh, I love the look of that. I might have to pick one up — thanks for passing that on.

    Ah, Neutrogena can do no wrong, I’m nearly certain of it. πŸ™‚

    Hey Carlie — when I think summer nail polish colors I think of pinks, corals, oranges and yellows. I think you can get away with just about any shade of pink, but I’d stay in the sheer for oranges or yellows. Nothing too bright. And I think anything with a tiny bit of glitter or shimmer is always pretty — and in my opinion, work appropriate! Let me know what you find πŸ™‚

  7. tupelobizbuzz June 16, 2008 at 9:20 am #

    I popped in “Catch me if you can” this weekend and did my toes in a shimmery pinkish gold color. My fingers got a gold glitter coat, which chipped off in two days. Back to a clear top coat for me πŸ™‚

  8. sheenabarnett June 16, 2008 at 9:27 am #

    Ah, you’ve touched on a good topic there, Carlie.

    I always have the hardest time keeping polish on my fingers, which is why I never wear any there. Even if it’s clear – and even if it’s a mani – it still chips off later in the day. Anyone have any tips on keeping polish on the fingers? I’ve got no problems keeping it on my toes. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

