Summer tuneage

4 Jun

Beaches, pools, sunny skies, sand in the street. I love love love summer and vacations. Who doesn’t?

Every time around this year, folks start talking summer songs.

Last year’s big summer jam was Rihanna’s “Umbrealla.” Before that, it was “Crazy” by Gnarls Barkley.

In years past, cuts like Tupac’s “California Love,” “Crazy in Love” by Beyonce and “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing” by Aerosmith were big hits in the summertime.

Entertainment Weekly even counted down the top 100 summer songs recently.

What songs are moving you this summer? Here are some songs that are heating up MY summer.

My summer has so far been rocked by The Raconteurs. I love the group’s new CD, “Consolers of the Lonely.” The first two tracks, “Consoler of the Lonely” and “Salute Your Solution,” are my picks. I could listen to them both endlessly.

When my bff Hannah and I were in Memphis for the Memphis in May Beale St. Music Festival (my first vacay of the summer), we kept it on this rock station that ping-ponged back between playing awesome bands (Pumpkins, Pearl Jam, Manson) and, well, a bunch of new rock that just sounded watered-down. But they played “Salute Your Solution” a lot. I mean A LOT. And I fell in love.

Here’s the video for “Salute Your Solution” by The Raconteurs.

I feel slightly guilty for this next one, but dude, it is so good: Leona Lewis’ “Bleeding Love.”

I heard it a few times and eventually just had to admit – it is a absolutely perfect, undeniable, infectious pop song. And for that, I salute it.
I would put up the video for it, but I’m sure you all have heard it almost to the point of being sick of it. 🙂

It’s hard to pick just one song off The Ting Tings’ new CD, “We Started Nothing,” as a summer jam. I scarily love “Shut Up and Let Me Go,” which you’ve heard on the new iPod commercials. “Great DJ” is another crazy-catchy song – you’ve probably seen the video on Vh1. But “That’s Not My Name” is a song that’s quickly digging a place in my heart.
Most of The Ting Tings’ videos can’t be embedded, so click here to see the video for “That’s Not My Name.”

Finally, I’ve written already about how I’m in love with this band, Cut Copy. If you like 80s music, chances are you’ll love Cut Copy. Very new wave, electronica, etc. I love this stuff.

Here’s a video “Lights and Music,” a song I particularly love. The video ain’t much to shake a stick at, but the song is what counts.

I’m starting to really get into Usher’s new single, “Love in this Club,” too.

What do you think will be the HUGE summer jam of 2008?

What songs do you love so far?

Write back and tell me! Let’s talk.

4 Responses to “Summer tuneage”

  1. hannahdonegan June 4, 2008 at 1:41 pm #

    OOOO … I wanna play!!

    Alas, I don’t pay attention to Top 40 anymore. 😦

    Will you accept my all-time summer list?

    ‘Hey Ya’ by Outkast
    ‘Barbie Girl’ by Aqua
    ‘Hollaback Girl’ by Gwen Stefani
    ‘I’m not OK (I Promise)’ by MCR

  2. sheenabarnett June 4, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    Why yes, I will accept your list.:)

    I still love “Hey Ya.” That song is perfect.

    heehee…”I’m Not OK (I Promise).” And the video makes it all the better!!

  3. hannahdonegan June 4, 2008 at 2:38 pm #

    ‘Hey Ya’ came on the radio while I was my way home from the grocery store … I made my fellow drivers a little nervous with my singing and gesticulating.

  4. Todd June 5, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    “Pork & Beans” by Weezer is my family’s summer song so far. It’s on all five ipods in the house, which is an amazing feat.

Leave a Reply

