Fashion: Buy it – Drew Barrymore says so!

28 May

This topic is a little late in the works, but I started thinking about it recently after it came up in two different conversations with my friends.

Above is an ad for CoverGirl LashBlast Volume Blasting Mascara, and that’s Drew Barrymore in the ad.

You’re probably very aware of Drew Barrymore – she’s the star of such flicks like “The Wedding Singer,” “Never Been Kissed,” “Charlie’s Angels” and, my very favorite, “Scream.”

About a week after seeing Barrymore’s ad for LashBlast, and even though I still had some of my old mascara (also by CoverGirl) left, I picked up my own tube of LashBlast. When I took it up to the counter, the sales clerk said LashBlast had been selling like crazy. I figured everyone else was picking it up for the same reason I did – simply because Drew Barrymore said it was awesome.

I’m not usually like that. I don’t go buy Chanel No. 5 because Nicole Kidman takes incredibly gorgeous photos for it (although she does make it tempting). I generally hide from books that Oprah says are great, and I could care less that 50 Cent drinks Vitamin Water.

But, man, Drew Barrymore totally sold me on that mascara. I had such an urge to go buy it that I almost wondered if there was some kind of subliminal advertising going on. Usually the only time I race to the store to go buy music. Make-up? Not so much.

I think it’s just the appeal of Drew Barrymore herself. She seems so sweet, so cool, so beautiful, so punk rock yet classy, so everything a lot of girls/young women want to be. I bought into that and apparently a lot of other people have too.

But, the really important question comes down to this – is the Drew Barrymore-endorsed mascara better than any non-Drew Barrymore-endorsed mascara out there? Are my lashes blasting? No, not really. It’s good mascara but I wouldn’t, as my daddy says, write home to mama about it. Will I buy another tube? Maybe, if I don’t find anything more appealing on Sephora (too late…Benefit has called my name and I am answering the call).

I just think it’s pretty crazy sometimes how we buy something – and at times spend a good bit of money – simply because a celebrity we like, or wish to be like, says it’s the thing to have.

Is there anything you’ve bought because of the celebrity who endorsed it?

Barrymore’s own boyfriend, Justin Long, a.k.a. the Mac guy, and Mac computers?
Jessica Simpson and ProActiv?
Gwen Stefani and Hewlett Packard?
That cute gecko and Geico?
Those cavement and Geico?

How much does celebrity endorsements have to do with the products you purchase?

2 Responses to “Fashion: Buy it – Drew Barrymore says so!”

  1. CPMYD May 29, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    I used Mac long before it was cool to use Mac and before Justin Long was ever in a movie with Britney Spears or dreamed of being “the Mac guy.” Celebs are just like me…they put their pants on one leg at a time. Plus the knowledge of how the whole endorsement thing goes (for example Penelope Cruz does NOT use buy-it-at-WalMart-in-a-box haircolor-I don’t care what she says on that commercial).

  2. sheenabarnett May 29, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    Good points there, CPMYD. I especially hate the ads for hair color with Sarah Jessica Parker. I’ve seen “Sex and the City” — you can’t tell me Carrie gets her hair colored by stuff from Wal-Mart.

Leave a Reply

