What’s Going On – ‘Serenity,’ TV shows on DVD, new CDs

25 May

Hey Scene cats,

Sorry for the lack of updates and posts for the last few days.  I took two days off last weekend, and just about the last thing I wanted to see those days was a computer. 🙂

I didn’t experience an incredible amount of pop culture, but the bit that I did, I’ll tell you about…

So I finally started reading the “Twilight” series by Stephenie Meyer. I read “Twilight” and “New Moon” and started on “Eclipse” during my days off.
The series, in case you’re not familiar, follows Bella, a girl who falls in love with a vampire. Yes, it’s a series for teenagers. Yes, it gets awfully melodramatic and Bella can be terribly whiny. But the overall story is pretty compelling and I have a thing for vampires. It’s tailor-made for Hot Topic kids and “Buffy” fans.

I also finally bought the new album by The Ting Tings, “We Started Nothing.” Haven’t listened to the whole thing, but so far it’s pretty rad. I also bought – and fell in love with – “In Ghost Colours” by Cut Copy. I hadn’t heard of this band before, but when I learned the band made a kind of 80s new wave kind of sound, I fell in love. This is why I think folks should sign up for Emusic – you never know what you’ll run up on on that site. That’s how I found Cut Copy – I didn’t have anything in mind to buy, but I knew May was running out so I needed to go ahead and get my downloads for the month. Ran into Cut Copy, and the rest is history.
Give me a few days and I’ll post a video from Cut Copy.

I didn’t watch much telly during the time off (except a few random hours of “The First 48” and “Ghost Hunters” on DVD), and I didn’t see any movies (except “Dewey Cox”…and if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all). So, a nice, relaxing weekend of books and music, it was. 🙂

Let me find some of the biggest entertainment headlines from the last few days and get those up for you…

  • A young actor playing a minor role in the next “Harry Potter” flick has been murdered.
  • Woot! “Can’t Stop the Serenity” is happening in Memphis in June!
    What’s “Can’t Stop the Serenity”? Fans of Joss Whedon have showings of his film, “Serenity,” on or near Whedon’s birthday, across the country, and all the proceeds go to his favorite charity, Equality Now.
    Sorry if that’s not new news to anyone, but it is to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

