In the Arena, 5/16

15 May

BY TODD HUNT

Sorry for the absence of a blog last week. I was at home trying to figure out how to cover up all of the damage to my roof caused by last week’s tornado. I did learn that my days of climbing on roofs are over, though. I hope that all of you made it through the storms OK. We’re very thankful in our house these days for how little damage we actually sustained in the grand scheme of things…

This week is a busy one at the arena. As I type this on Thursday afternoon, Soulja Boy is getting ready to perform all of his hits tonight in front of a screaming crowd. The Mudcats return home on Saturday to defend their perfect record against the Columbus (GA) Lions. And next weekend we will host the graduation ceremonies for Tupelo and Lee County high schools. We’ve also just put performances by Ringling Bros (June 19-22) and Winnie The Pooh (September 26) on sale.

My topic for this week is new music. I’ve heard a few things that I really like, and wanted to solicit feedback from you guys on what’s new out there. Here are my picks:

WEEZER – The Red Album’s release date has been moved up to June 3, which thrills my 8-year-old son (and his dad). The new single (“Pork & Beans”) is streaming on their website. If the rest of the album is as good as this song, I’ll be thrilled. Now if only I can convince them to play a show in the birthplace of Elvis…

STEVE WINWOOD – “Nine Lives” is the title of his latest album. It sounds a lot like his classic stuff from the 60’s with a special appearance by Eric Clapton on the single “Dirty City”. Alas, I was unable to see the two of them play Madison Square Garden a few months back. Wouldn’t that be a great show for the BCS Arena?

THE RACONTEURS – “Consolers of the Lonely” is the new album from Jack White’s side project. We missed a shot at the White Stripes tour last year when they played Southaven. If I thought we could sell tickets to more than just my family for this show, I would book it in a heartbeat!

MUDCRUTCH – Tom Petty puts his original band back together, with fantastic results. One question though, Tom: why do you only allow 30 second snippets of your music online? A couple of weeks ago, you could sample the entire album on the web. Now, it’s down to iTunes-sized snippets. Check out the song “Crystal River” if you get a chance. Tom is touring with the Heartbreakers (and Steve Winwood) this summer but skipped our area. No word yet on whether he’ll take Mudcrutch out for an extended tour later this year.

THE REPLACEMENTS – Since this band is officially dead, I couldn’t find a good link for a website (wikipedia actually had the best info). I can tell you that their first four albums were just remastered and re-released by Rhino. Supposedly they also include outtakes and original demos from those sessions. I haven’t decided if I’ll splurge for these yet, but I can say that two of these four albums (“Sorry Ma” and “Let It Be”) are among my all-time favorite records…

So those are the artists with new material that I’m into these days. What else is out there? Let me know what you guys are listening to.

Until next week,

Todd

2 Responses to “In the Arena, 5/16”

  1. sheenabarnett May 15, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    Loved this post, Todd!

    A lot of what I’ve been listening to has already been featured in the pages of Scene lately – like Santogold, Robyn and Estelle.

    I went to Memphis recently and bought some more Beatles on vinyl, and I’ve ripped that to my iPod. So, listening to that is almost like hearing The Beatles for the first time all over again.

    By the way, Steve Winwood at the Arena would be sooo rad…that’s just my opinion anyway. 🙂

  2. bigworm May 19, 2008 at 1:11 pm #

    If you’re into the Raconteurs, give Brendan Benson’s album “One Mississippi” a shot. You won’t be sorry for long.

Leave a Reply

