What’s Going On – “American Idol,” Coldplay, Snoop

12 May

Howdy, Scene cats.

Hope you had a good weekend. I spent my weekend helping out with Mama’s Got a Brand New Bag, the designer purse silent auction, and then yesterday covering the Cellular South GumTree Festival. I got a gorgeous necklace and a fun print, so I’d call it a good weekend.

But I’m afraid my Memphis in May adventures are finally catching up with me…starting to sniffle more than usual. 😦

But anyway, enough rambling – on to some newsy bits…

  • I’m not one for gossip, but this could have an impact on the show: David Archuleta’s stage dad has reportedly been banned from “Idol”‘s backstage. He can’t attend rehearsals, etc. Hmm..
  • Joss Whedon’s “Dollhouse” has been picked up for mid-season, as has J.J. Abrams’ “Fringe.”
  • Coldplay’s touring this year; of course, if you live in NeMiss, you’ll probably have to travel to Atlanta to see the band.
  • This could either be kinda cool or terrifying: Cee-Lo and Jack Black are teaming to cover Carl Douglas’ “Kung Fu Fighting” for Black’s new movie, “Kung Fu Panda.”

Here’s a happy I stumbled upon this weekend…(and, yes, I realize this is way late).

So “Heart-Shaped Box” by Joe Hill is one of my favorite books. Imagine my surprise as I was reading my “Angel” comics and came upon an ad for “Locke & Key,” a new comic book series written by Joe Hill.

I just ordered the first six issues from the publisher, IDW Publishing. I should get them soon and I’ll let you know what I think. Woo-hoo!

2 Responses to “What’s Going On – “American Idol,” Coldplay, Snoop”

  1. New Albany May 12, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    A DRINK FOR NEW ALBANY
    Roll out the barrel and turn down the light – We’re gonna vote wet and have a party tonight!

    Register to Vote – Sign the Petition – VOTE WET

    New Albany, Mississippi

    Union County

    We are ready to move forward

    COME JOIN US!

    If you live in Union County, MS and are NOT a registered voter all you have to do is go to the Union County Courthouse and register. It is quick and easy.

    Now that you are a registered voter all you have to do is sign the petition using the same name and other information required.

    All done with that stuff

    VOTE

    For a Better New Albany, Mississippi

  2. Union County Alcohol Petition May 31, 2008 at 10:16 pm #

    Coming June 2, 2008

    http://unioncountyunited.com/

Leave a Reply

