Memphis in Mud – My Chemical Romance

5 May

The Memphis in May Beale St. Music Festival didn’t earn the nickname “Memphis in Mud” for nothing.

Of course, it wouldn’t really be Memphis in May without a ton of mud and rain.

My best friend, Hannah, and I went to Memphis Friday to celebrate our birthdays (hers was in March; mine’s tomorrow). I can’t give you guys a full recap of what happened this weekend, but I can tell you what we experienced – and it was quite an adventure. And since it’s long – more after the jump!

Hannah and I went to see one of our favorite bands, My Chemical Romance. We had planned to see other acts, like Joan Jett and Ben Folds, but the My Chem stage was already getting full so we decided to stay there so we could get close to the stage for My Chem.

We got there just in time to watch Flyleaf. I’ve listened to this Christian rock band a little bit here and there, but never seen the group live. Flyleaf was pretty good – very energetic.

Then, after Flyleaf, a good rain set in. The stage guys set up the next band’s equipment, but then they had to come back and cover up the instruments because the rain was washing up on to the stage.

Hellogoodbye was next. The rain was so heavy they couldn’t perform for a while – and, actually, from what I hear, other acts at this time had to cancel, like Ben Folds.

The rain finally slowed down enough so that Hellogoodbye could take the stage (and the lead singer was in yellow gym shorts, which were a little scary, but I digress). I never really liked the group’s single, “Here (In Your Arms),” but I really enjoyed the rest of the songs the band performed. Pretty awesome set – especially considering it started pouring again during the set.

After Hellogoodbye, the stage guys started setting up My Chem’s equipment – but, of course, it started raining and the equipment had to be covered again.

Finally the rain let up, and My Chemical Romance took the stage. I think the band realized we’d been standing outside for about five hours in the on-and-off pouring rain, so the guys in the band really let loose. Lead singer Gerard Way said he couldn’t remember the last time guitarist Ray Toro played so hard he broke strings.

I couldn’t give you a set list but here’s a list of songs they played: “Give ‘Em Hell, Kid,” “Headfirst for Halos,” “Welcome to the Black Parade,” “Teenagers,” “I’m Not Okay,” “I Don’t Love You,” “My Way Home is Through You,” “Kill All Your Friends,” “Famous Last Words,” “Cemetery Drive,” “House of Wolves,” “The Sharpest Lives,” “This is How I Disappear,” “Mama,” “You Know What They Do to Guys Like Us in Prison,” “Dead!”

I think the band had planned to finish with “Helena,” but it was raining pretty hard and lightning, so I think they just barely cut the set short. Still, I’ve seen MCR three times and this was hands down the best show. Only the hardcore fans stayed through all the rain, so it felt like an intimate club gig (but with lots of rain and lightning, of course). I was happy to finally hear “Kill All Your Friends” live, and I love love love “Headfirst for Halos.”

By the end of the night, the rain had soaked through our ponchos, our makeup had been clear washed away, we were soaked to the bone and my shoes may in fact be ruined. It was still the best show ever.

As Hannah and I were leaving the park, a guy asked us if the MCR show as worth it to stand in the rain that long, and we said in unison, “YES.” He turned to somebody else and said, “That My Chemical Romance show must’ve been something – people are still leaving from it and they look rough.” lol. 🙂

And, another awesome adventure – before heading down to the park for the festival, Hannah and I went to the Peabody Place to meander a bit. We were upstairs when Hannah whacked me on the arm. I looked up and there were two of My Chemical Romance’s guitarists, Ray Toro and Frank Iero. They were headed to the movies with an absolutely massive bodyguard.

I’ve interviewed, oh, about everybody, actually met Simon Cowell and Ryan Seacrest, accidentally ran into AFI, but this was the first time I really got starstruck. I just couldn’t say anything. So we let them go on into the movies. But still, it was awesome to see them out.

A lot of the videos from the festival are obviously pretty bad due to the rain but I just found this video that has clips from several of the songs MCR performed. We were about at this same place, only on the other side of the stage. WARNING – Spicy language.

If you went to Memphis in May, share your story!

13 Responses to “Memphis in Mud – My Chemical Romance”

  1. 45678 May 5, 2008 at 1:10 pm #

    Haha i went just to see MCR
    they were amazing.
    We put through so much to see them.
    Rain/Lighting/Drunks
    But it was still amaazziinng
    Ha I can’t belive you saw Frank and Ray.
    Thats amazing.

    and I think it was Frank that broke a string

  2. sheenabarnett May 5, 2008 at 1:14 pm #

    tell me about it! i loved how the rain kept all the wishy-washy fans away!

    it very well could have been frank — it was raining and i was so excited — so i could’ve heard wrong!

    but yeah it was so rad to see them. i couldn’t believe how completely starstruck i was.

  3. 45678 May 5, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    Yeah but thats was the first time he broke in forever! That had to be on of their best shows on this tour.Or I think so.

    Haha it would of been startstruck too.

    Oh it would of been amazing if they played Helena

  4. sheenabarnett May 5, 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    this is the only show i’ve seen on this tour so i can’t say. but like i said, i’ve seen them only three times — once in support of “sweet revenge,” once in support of “the black parade” and now. and this one was awesome.

    yeah i think they were going to play “helena” but the weather was too bad. oh well. i was just happy they played “headfirst for halos” and “kill all your friends.”

  5. 45678 May 5, 2008 at 2:14 pm #

    Well this was my first MCR show.
    but i watched videos of their tour.
    You saw them in Revenge Tour..thats awesome

    yeah,i was happy they played My Way Home Is Through You
    thats one of my fav. songs by them

  6. sheenabarnett May 5, 2008 at 2:20 pm #

    that is an awesome song.

    so the new live disc set, “the black parade is dead,” comes out june 24 but you can pre-order it starting today. i plunked down $70 for the huge set, complete with a mask and death certificate.

    oh, the things we do for MCR!

  7. 45678 May 5, 2008 at 3:07 pm #

    yes it is.

    Yeah i know.
    I’m trying to pre-order it right now
    Its going to be amazing

  8. Holly May 5, 2008 at 3:37 pm #

    I Was so there!! I was third from the stage Frankies side! My husband in tow, he was pissed at me for all the rain and hell we went through to be there, but he loves me, he said later that he likes the way Ray plays and that they are a great band live! (duhh haha) But yea It was amazing and Im still high from it, everything happened to stop me from being there, but in the end, I saw my boys! It was awesome that it was all hard core fans, just like a small venue! was a great night indeed!!

  9. sheenabarnett May 5, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    lol, yeah – it was a crazy situation with all the rain and lightning (or “pyro from god” as gerard way called it) but it was such a wonderful show.

  10. Liz & Maggie May 6, 2008 at 6:37 pm #

    We traveled from New Orleans, La to see My Chemical Romance…..My daughter absolutely loves them. We braved the storm as this was not the first “performance” I’ve ever endured torrential rains for. I am familiar with alot of their music from my daughter, we arrived at the stage as Flyleaf was just starting their set-pretty good band. Then we drew in closer as they left stage and the setup for Hellogoodbye began. Each time there was a break to move forward we meandered our way closer. As time grew closer for My Chem to take stage we found ourselves relatively very close to the stage although, my daughter is very petitie and couldn’t see much at all. She was crying because everyone in the crowd was so much taller and there was such a nice couple standing next to us that told her when they took stage he would put her on his shoulders. This brought such a big smile to her face, all the tears were then gone. Standing in those horrid cold rainstorms and lightning was worth every minute. I must say I really enjoyed their show-they gave their all and then some for all of us that were loyal enough to stand through all the weather to see them–words can’t begin to express how good their performance was. I personally take offense that I’ve searched all the local Memphis newspapers and not even a mention of My Chemical Romance and how they played and gave a top notch performance in Spite of the weather. I just think they deserve credit for being “True Performers” and giving their all and not letting their fans down. This was my first time seeing them and I would definately go see them again if ever they return to New Orleans. My daughter brought it to my attention that they were just here in April but we missed them….they came to Baton Rouge I believe. All I can say is…..guys, Ya’ll did an Awesome show and I commend you on an excellent performance.

  11. sheenabarnett May 7, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    hey liz and maggie — thanks for the post!

    i think the only reason MCR wasn’t covered much in the memphis press was because it was so late and the weather was so bad. but i did read one blogger from the commercial appeal who wrote a very nice but short review of the show. basically he said mcr set the standard for all the other rock bands at the festival. i think everyone who saw this show has to agree it was one of their best!

  12. 45678 May 7, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    Hey
    I found this video that has the full Headfirst For Halos and Kill All Your Friends
    i thought you would like to see it

  13. sheenabarnett May 8, 2008 at 10:24 am #

    wow, that’s a great video! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

