What’s Going On – Idol, sequels, Willie Nelson

30 Apr

Anyone else still feeling dizzy from the mess that was “Idol” last night? Man, that Paula drama is calling the whole show into question now. Everyone is accusing the show of being completely scripted and/or rigged.

Entertainment Weekly is doing a great job of covering it – I especially liked this piece that described what the studio audience saw.

But on to news…

  • BBC America shows like “Torchwood” and “Robin Hood” are now on iTunes.
  • Jonah Hill may star in the “Transformers” sequel.
  • Want a free copy of a new “Star Wars” book? Click here.

And, finally, a happy for today:

Willie Nelson turns 75 today.

If your mama raised you right, she brought you up listening to Willie.

I know my mama did. My mother sang me Willie Nelson songs the way other moms sing lullabies. I always assumed everyone else was put to bed by the strains of “Crazy” or “Pretty Paper” (she sang that one all year). He was almost a member of our family. We just called him “Willie.

Do you have a favorite Willie song?

My cousin Shawna loves “Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground.”

My pick is “Crazy.” That may be the best song ever written, ever.

My mama’s favorite Willie album is “Stardust.”

Share your favorites!

To celebrate his birthday, here’s a video of Willie singing three of my favorites: “Funny How Time Slips Away,” “Crazy” and “Night Life.”

One Response to “What’s Going On – Idol, sequels, Willie Nelson”

  1. Monroe Mojo April 30, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    My favorite is “Willie and Family Live,” which has an amazing version of “Til I Gain Control Again.” “Teatro” is also one of my favorites. Daniel Lanois is such a genius producer.

    Thanks for the WB tip. Any chance to watch the “Gilmore Girls” is awesome.

Leave a Reply

