In My Queue: “There Will Be Blood”

28 Apr

Maybe I’m the last person in America, but I’m only just now getting around to watching “There Will Be Blood.”

Like a lot of other movies released late last year, such as “No Country for Old Men” and “Atonement,” this movie got quite a bit of hype. I won’t say it’s my favorite hyped-up movie of the year, but it was worth watching.

Very simply, “There Will Be Blood” tells the story of Daniel (Daniel Day-Lewis) and how his life plays out after becoming an oil tycoon. Elements of greed, religion and family (especially father-son relationships) weave together to tell a rich, terrifying and magnificent story.

I can’t say turn-of-the-century oil tycoons interest me much, but Day-Lewis sold me on it. His performance is so incredibly amazing. You almost wish they made something more than just an Oscar for acting — because when someone is this good, giving them a gold statue of a naked guy seems so silly.

Paul Dano, who plays Eli, is also terrific. You probably remember Dano as Dwayne in “Little Miss Sunshine.”

Overall, there were moments that felt completely pretentious and indulgent. And the entire first hour did nothing for me – I spent most of it wondering if they were using dark chocolate syrup for oil (a la dyed corn syrup for pig’s blood in “Carrie”). But once the latter half of the movie rolls in and we come to understand Daniel more, it becomes way more interesting. And, Daniel Day-Lewis’ acting is really so good that it makes you forget the more indulgent moments.

I probably enjoyed “No Country” more (um, if that is possible – both can be hard to watch), but “There Will Be Blood” is still a great movie.

Here’s the trailer for “There Will Be Blood” —

And I LOVE LOVE LOVE this “Blood” inspired T-shirt!

2 Responses to “In My Queue: “There Will Be Blood””

  1. ejs April 28, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    This movie is from the book OIL by Upton Sinclair written in the 1920’s. I think that you would enjoy reading it (and other Sinclair books).
    It is especially good in audio form.

  2. sheenabarnett April 29, 2008 at 8:25 am #

    I read “The Jungle” as either a junior or senior in high school, and I didn’t like it much. Granted I was in high school so I probably didn’t have much of an appreciation for it – I’m sure I’d feel differently about it now.
    Audio may be the way to go!

Leave a Reply

