In My Queue: ‘Atonement’

16 Apr

“Atonement” is one of those movies that had a whooole lot of buzz at the end of last year and around Oscar season.

I put it in my queue, wondering if it could live up to all the hype.

It does and it doesn’t.

I’ve never read the book on which the film is based (“Atonement” by Ian McEwan), so I can’t compare the two. But when this film was theatrically released, I got the feeling it was this huge, epic, sweeping love story. Maybe it was just me, but the film felt a little smaller than it had been made out to be.

Here’s the basics: In 1935, a 13-year-old girl, Briony (Saoirse Ronan), falsely accuses Robbie (James McAvoy), her sister Cecelia’s (Keira Knightley) lover, of a crime he didn’t commit. The film follows their lives for several more years, and we see how Briony’s lie and World War II change their lives forever.

“Atonement” is a beautifully made film – from the rich scenes on the English countryside to the dark, ugly looks at the war, everything was so beautiful.

The first half of the movie worked magically for me, and I loved every scene. The middle section dragged a bit, but I started to feel that magic again by the end of the film.

“Atonement” may not be for everybody, but it’s certainly a good romantic drama about imagination and the power of words.

Here’s the trailer for “Atonement.”

This wasn’t in my queue, but I borrowed the documentary “For the Bible Tells Me So” from a friend and watched that this week.

Basically, this documentary follows several Christian families and how they reacted when one of their children came out as gay or lesbian.

Their reactions varied drastically – some parents shunned their children, some tolerated their lifestyle and some totally supported their children.

I won’t get into the politics of the subject matter here – that’s not what we’re here for. But, I’ll say this: this documentary made me cry – out of anger, out of sadness, out of hope. It broke my heart but reaffirmed my faith. This is a powerful documentary, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in its subject.

Leave a Reply

