In My Queue – ‘Fido,’ ‘Sweeney Todd’

7 Apr

This week’s visitor from Netflix: “Fido.”

What happens (swiped from imdb.com): “Timmy Robinson’s best friend in the whole wide world is a six-foot tall rotting zombie named Fido. But when Fido eats the next-door neighbor, Mom and Dad hit the roof, and Timmy has to go to the ends of the earth to keep Fido a part of the family. A boy-and-his-dog movie for grown ups.”

I had a lot of fun with this one. The basic plot is one you’ve seen before, but the zombie element keeps it fresh and actually pretty light-hearted. I thought it was very Tim Burton-ish, which was probably why I liked it so well.

It may not ever reach cult status, but it’s a breezy flick that’s good for a few laughs.

“Fido” stars K’Sun Ray, Billy Connolly, Carrie-Anne Moss, Tim Blake Nelson and Dylan Baker.

If you liked movies like “Shaun of the Dead,” you’d like “Fido.”

Here’s the trailer for “Fido”:

Also – this isn’t exactly a queue/Netflix thing, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

This past week I picked up the two-disc special edition of “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street.”

I used to always buy the “two-disc special editions” of movies, knowing I’d want to see all the extras about how the movie was made. But in the last few years I’ve realized I rarely, if ever, get around to watching those extras – not even in my Harry Potter DVDs. So I said I wasn’t going to plunk down that extra $5-ish for the “Sweeney Todd” special edition, until I read this, in which Rolling Stone’s Peter Travers gives “Sweeney Todd”‘s special features a glowing review.

OK – since purchasing said special set, I’ve only had time to watch the entire movie once as well as clips of my favorite scenes. Now I’ve loaned it out, so I haven’t had a chance to watch any special features. But from what I can tell, my extra few bucks were a few extra bucks well spent.

I reviewed “Sweeney Todd” on this blog back when it was still in theaters, but I’ll do a quick review here for anyone who missed that review and still hasn’t seen “Sweeney Todd.”

–This movie is seriously good, on so many different levels – from the talent of the actors to the way Burton never makes the social/political commentary outweigh the plot. A very well-rounded film.
–Don’t believe the hype that this movie is graphic or gory. There’s blood, sure, and lots of it – but that’s it. If you managed to sit though the gorefests that are the “Saw” or “Hostel” movies, you can easily, easily handle “Sweeney Todd.”
–“Sweeney Todd” a musical. Most (think 90 percent-ish) of this movie is sung. There are no snappy choruses, and you have to listen to the words to understand what’s going on – again it is a musical (sorry, been a bit peeved at folks who “don’t get” the movie for this one reason).

In other words, “Sweeney Todd” is well worth your time – and it looks like those special features are worth your hard-earned dollars, too.

“Sweeney Todd” trailer:

One Response to “In My Queue – ‘Fido,’ ‘Sweeney Todd’”

  1. Pop-Rock Candy April 7, 2008 at 8:58 pm #

    In my queue: Porky’s on Betamax and DC Cab

Leave a Reply

