“American Idol,” April 1

1 Apr

It was Dolly Parton night on “American Idol” tonight, and, as usual, it was a pretty mixed bag.

Brooke White started the night off with “Jolene.” She sang it with her guitar and a few band members behind her. I liked it alright; my mom absolutely hated it.
Randy said: It was pitchy and rushed it some parts, but “alright.”
Paula said: She’s consistent and has an emotional connection with her songs.
Simon said: It was lacking any emotion, and Brooke and the band members looked “odd” together. He wasn’t crazy about it.

*sigh* David Cook finally changed his hair up this week! It didn’t look great, but gosh, anything’s an improvement over the way it has looked. I’m worried, though, he’ll consider this an April Fools’ hair day and go back to looking strange tomorrow night. 😦
Anyway. He sang “Little Sparrow,” and it was good.
Randy said: “Another hot, consistent performance.”
Paula said: She likes his hair, and he showed how rounded he is as an artist.
Simon said: Not as good as last week but he made a song about a sparrow sound good.

Ramiele Malubay sang “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind.” I’ve already forgotten this, yet I’m sure she’ll sail through on to next week anyway, somehow.
Randy said: 6.5/10.
Paula said: She had a great minute and 30 seconds.
Simon said: “That’s not one we’ll remember in 10 years, will we?”

Jason Castro sang “Travelin’ Through.” He sang it with his guitar, and I really liked it.
Randy said: It was pretty good.
Paula said: It was one of his strongest performances and she loved it.
Simon said: He didn’t like it at all and Jason didn’t sing it particularly well.

Carly Smithson sang “Here You Come Again.” I liked it, but I felt like she was, again, kinda angry all through it (or maybe I was just catching a whiff of her “Desperate to Win” perfume). I wish she’d tone herself down just a tiny bit. Just a tiny bit. Then she’d be right dandy.
Randy said: It was one of the better performances of the night.
Paula said: She has a beautiful voice and she looks great.
Simon said: It was good but not great, and she needs to work on her style (I must agree w/ him here — her version was very slow and I thought she would’ve worn a dress, but she wore…well..I don’t know, something that looked better for a night out in a club).

David “Little Bit” Archuleta sang “Smoky Mountain Memories.” It’s really, really pretty, but it did feel just a teeeeensy bit old-fashioned. To me, anyway.
Randy said: That was the best performance of the night.
Paula said: “Glorious.”
Simon said: He had issues w/ David’s song choice last week, but “this was absolutely on the money.”

Kristy Lee Cook sang “Coat of Many Colors.” If you can’t say anything nice…
Randy said: Country is her genre and it was “very nice.”
Paula said: It was her best performance so far.
Simon said: Last week’s was her best, and this week was “pleasant but forgettable.”

Syesha Mercado sang “I Will Always Love You,” parts Dolly and Whitney. I would absolutely kill for that yellow number she had on, but I guess this isn’t fashion idol, is it? 🙂 Anyway, I liked her performance.
Randy said: It was pretty good.
Paula said: She connects well w/ the audience.
Simon said: The first part was good but the second part paled in comparison to the Whitney version.

Michael Johns sang “It’s All Wrong, But It’s All Right.” I missed much of his performance but the little bit I heard sounded wonderful.
Randy said: It was “blazing hot.”
Paula said: He’s a rock star.
Simon said: It was the best he’d ever heard him sing.

I have no idea who’s going home. I want Ramiele or Kristy Lee to go, but I’m sure it’ll be somebody we’ll wished have stayed (oh, Chikezie, how we miss thee).

What do y’all think? Who will be in the bottom three? Who will go home?

Alright, cats — check back here tomorrow to see who’s voted off!

One Response to ““American Idol,” April 1”

  1. farley662 April 1, 2008 at 11:46 pm #

    Ramiele, Kristy Lee, Syesha

    In a just world, Syesha “Always oversings and sounds like crap” Mercado, but they have to keep her in for the R&B votes. She really does suck.

    But it will be Kristy Lee.

Leave a Reply

