A look back at Rock for a Cause

30 Mar

As promised, I went to a show this weekend – Rock for a Cause at the Powerhouse in Oxford – and I return bringing photos.

I know – these photos aren’t the best! But give me time and hopefully I’ll get better. 🙂

On to the show…
I came in about half-way through Yossarian‘s set, and I was impressed. They do this kind of instrumental metal/progressive sound, and gosh they were loud. They were wonderful, though.

Second Chances – also known as Kyle Segars – had the difficult job of following the band. It was just Kyle and his guitar, but he held his own. Everyone loved his cover of Chris Brown’s “With You.”

Avenue Hearts was great too. Their alt.country sound was really relaxing and they had a wonderful Ryan Adams-y noise to them.

I didn’t get the chance to stay for all of Aaron Hall Band, but the little bit I saw was soo good. Definitely one of my new favorites and I can’t wait to see them at Double Decker.

More shows to come…promise!

6 Responses to “A look back at Rock for a Cause”

  1. farley662 March 30, 2008 at 5:37 pm #

    Why can’t Double Decker ever get a decent big name band? I’m tired of the hippie music and the crappy local bands. You’d think with the money in this town, they could get a decent headliner.

  2. sheenabarnett March 30, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    I don’t know, I think this year’s line-up is great.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Avett Bros., who are headlining. I hear they put on a really awesome live show.

    And the local bands this year are super terrific — Colour Revolt (who are absolutely huge), Blue Mountain (ditto), Afrissippi, Dent May, Aaron Hall, Avenue Hearts, etc. I think this year’s Double Decker may be one of the best ever.

  3. farley662 March 30, 2008 at 6:10 pm #

    I’m not into the local music scene at all. O-Town never gets a big time band here. Starkvegas gets it’s fair share of mid-to major bands every year. I’ve been here 3 years and have yet to see a big name attraction brought in. I can see the dang Cooters every weekend though. Yay me!

  4. oxfordfilmfreak March 30, 2008 at 8:31 pm #

    Aaron Hall Band is amazing..And Blue Mountain just played at SXSW and rocked it. They are on a national tour right now and are coming back for Double Decker..good stuff.

  5. sheenabarnett March 31, 2008 at 9:05 am #

    I don’t know — I think you may be missing out.

    NeMiss has some great talent here. And, even better, there bands that play just about every genre of music. In NeMiss alone there is indie rock (Colour Revolt, for example), pure rock ‘n’ roll (Young Agent Jones), country and alt.country (Blue Mountain, Avenue Hearts), rap (TEF), Christian rock (So Be iT), bluegrass (Nash Street), metal (Betrayal), emo (Kyle Segars/Second Chances), punk (The Cooters), acoustic rock (Thomas Jackson Orchestra).
    We even have goth rockabilly (Dr. Daniel & the Rockabilly Vampires).
    And these are bands that are creating original material.
    The local talent here is definitely both rich and varied.

    Plus, I hear y’all are getting a new, big venue in the old Two Stick location that will feature larger acts. So maybe you’ll get more major label acts there.

  6. Pop-Rock Candy March 31, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    The Avett Brothers rock!

Leave a Reply

