What’s Going On – Record stores, Al Green, movie bad guys

27 Mar

Merry Thursday, Scene cats!

I’m going to (try) to start a new feature here at the blog this weekend. I’m going to try to make it to at least one local show a week and take photos of the band(s) performing.  Tonight I’m heading to Oxford for the Rock for a Cause show featuring Avenue Hearts, the Aaron Hall Band, Yossarian and Second Chances.

Since I’m off for the next few days I may not get a chance to actually post the photos until Sunday…so give me some time! 🙂

Anyway, on to some newsy bits…

  • This story explains why record stores aren’t working in college towns…I still miss Uncle Buck’s and Hot Dog.
  • Remember the L.A. Times Tupac story I linked to a bit back? Now they’re apologizing for it, but it seems like an honest mistake.
  • Want to see (nearly) all of “Battlestar Galactica”? Check out Sci-Fi Channel’s marathon next week.
  • Tobey McGuire is adapting the “Afterburn” comic series into a movie.

Also – Entertainment Weekly has listed the 50 Most Vile Movie Villains (Part 1, Part 2).

My favorites: Mr. Potter (It’s a Wonderful Life), Commodus (Gladiator), Anton Chigurh (No Country for Old Men), Nurse Ratched (One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest), Capt. Vidal (Pan’s Labyrinth),  John Ryder (The Hitcher) and Norman Bates (Psycho).

But I’m not sure anyone can beat Robert Mitchum’s Harry Powell in “Night of the Hunter.” That man is terrifying. But, of course, I’m partial to Mitchum — I also prefer his Max Cady to Robert DeNiro’s (Cape Fear).

Leave a Reply

