In the Arena, 3/21

20 Mar

BY TODD HUNT

Are you ready for some football? The Mississippi Mudcats are hoping that the answer is YES!

The Mudcats kick off the 2008 season Saturday at 7 p.m. in the Arena. Tickets are on sale now through the Arena Box Office, our ticket outlets, and online at bcsarena.com. Take a break from March Madness and support your hometown team as they battle for the AIFL crown.

I have a question for those of you in blogland: will the current state of the economy affect your decision to buy concert tickets?
And the million dollar question: how much would you be willing to pay to see a concert?

I know it’s hard to answer that without knowing who the artist is. Let’s just say it’s a big name entertainer (not Jimmy Buffet, Kenny Chesney or Dave Matthews, but a step below them). What’s your top price?

Thanks for your input. We’re still busy pursuing shows and this information will help us.

See you at the ballgame Saturday night.

Until next week,

Todd

7 Responses to “In the Arena, 3/21”

  1. JRAY March 21, 2008 at 7:44 am #

    if its a good band i like, im willing to put down 30-40 bucks pretty easily… and thats with the service fee.. i think the BCS Arena should bring in some TNA wrestling… they are doing PPVs out of orlando now and tupelo is the right size and right area to do one if the tickets are not over priced…

  2. jmantupelo March 21, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    I’ve paid $70 before to see Dave Matthews and would again. I understand from your post that is not who it is, but I think $70 would be the most I would pay.

  3. GeddyLee March 21, 2008 at 11:31 am #

    I’m having second thoughts about going to New Orleans on April 19 to see Rush. I paid $50 for a tank of gas in my Ford Taurus ($3.19 per gallon), so imagine what it’ll cost going to the Big Easy and back. Plus, there are the tickets (total of $235 for three, and I planned to sell any extras I have), hotel room ($120 for one night), food and beverages, and, of course, there’s no telling how much I’ll drop at Big Daddy’s or Larry Flynt’s Barely Legal on Bourbon Street (the last part is optional, depending if my wife comes with me). To be honest, I’m feeling guilty about making this trip. It was supposed to be my birthday gift, and I had the blessing of my wife to make this trip, but, dang, the basic cost of going may just be too much to afford.

  4. farley662 March 21, 2008 at 3:37 pm #

    Good idea about TNA Jray. $40-$50 if it’s the right person. Not Alan Jackson, Brooks and Dunn, Hank Jr, Nickelback, 3 Doors Down, or any female entertainer though.

  5. Alan March 21, 2008 at 7:48 pm #

    $50-$60 sounds about right.

  6. sheenabarnett March 21, 2008 at 10:12 pm #

    hey todd — you know me, i’m a music/live show junkie, so i’ll pay about anything to see any act i’m really into. to me, shows could be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, so no matter how hard i have to squeeze at home, i’ll always make sure i can go to a show.

    but once tickets get into the scary, hannah montana-kind of numbers ($500+, and that’s being very conservative!), then i might have to back out! 🙂

  7. Hugo March 22, 2008 at 1:24 am #

    $30-$40 for the artist you are talking about. Bring the Eagles back and we will be there no matter what the price is.

Leave a Reply

