Embarrassed much?

11 Mar

I got this idea from another blog and thought I’d try it here, just for fun. 🙂

Everyone has that CD — the one so embarrassing you actually take the time to hide it when people come over to visit. Or maybe it’s the song you click over fast as you’re DJing with your iPod. But when it comes on, you are secretly in love.

What’s the most embarrassing music you have on your iPod?

Let me get this out of the way, first: I don’t really believe in knocking music or anyone’s music taste – you dig what you dig and there’s no shame in that.
Still, everyone has that song they regard as their secret guilty pleasures, and we’re celebrating those today.

So, please, no knocking anyone’s taste and don’t get offended if someone considers your favorite band a guilty pleasure.

This is all in good fun!

Here are mine…please share yours! 🙂

5. “Goodies,” Ciara
Technically I don’t have this on my iPod now, but it was on the mp3 player I had in college. The only person I knew who liked this song beside me was one of my best friends, Jeremy, and we rocked out to it all the time. But our other friends made fun of us mercilessly for this one. I still secretly love it though. 🙂

4. “Crazy Bitch,” Buckcherry
The feminist in me takes this song too seriously sometimes, to the point of getting offended. But the 15-year-old girl in me is like, ooh, rock ‘n’ roll baby! *sigh*

3. “London Bridge,” Fergie (edited, at that)
I bought my little cousin an iPod for Christmas and I’ve been loading it up with her favorite music. She asked for Fergie, so she got Fergie – edited, of course, because Fergie has a quite a potty mouth – but I secretly love love love “London Bridge.” The second verse is especially bad, but the rest of it is yummy guilty pleasure-y goodness.

2. “Girlfriend,” Avril Lavigne
I’ve never been a fan of Avril’s, but this song was too catchy to resist…must be the “Mickey” fan in me. Haven’t listened to it since she made those comments about “that hurricane thing,” though.

1.”You Give Love a Bad Name,” Blake Lewis
There is really, supremely, NO defending this. Yes, it’s the version Lewis sang on “American Idol” last year. It seemed cool at the time…

Runners up:
“Margaritaville” by Jimmy Buffett (but it’s a must for vacation trip tuneage)
“Objection (Tango)” by Shakira (I used to think it was funny…now it just baffles me)
“Under Pressure” by Kill Hannah (good song, and normally I can dig Kill Hannah, but this is baaad)

A couple of weeks ago, I would’ve been embarrassed to say I had Taylor Swift on my iPod. I bought some of her tunes for the little cousin, but I hadn’t really listened to her music – just been annoyed by the “Teardrops on My Guitar” video. But since then I’ve listened to her and I’m really liking what I hear – she’s a lot of fun, and I promise, “Our Song” is a-freaking-dorable.

On the other hand, I’m a little embarrassed by the more “music snob” tunes on there – like, say, everything by Arcade Fire. Sure, it makes me look cool, but since I don’t actually like much of their stuff, I only recognize (and like) maybe two or three songs. So I have a lot of space being taken up by a band I can barely relate with – and that’s embarrassing.

Again, all of this is meant for light-hearted fun – so celebrate your musical guilty pleasures and share them here!

Leave a Reply

