R.I.P, Mike Smith

28 Feb

Mike Smith, lead singer of the Dave Clark Five, has died.
The band will be inducted in the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame later this year.

Dave Clark Five has become one of my favorite bands in the last couple of years.

If I listen to music on the radio at all, it’s usually on an oldies station. That’s how I became familiar with the band, and DC5’s biggest hits like “Bits and Pieces,” “Glad All Over” and “Catch Us If You Can” were some of my favorites.

I’ve only been able to find the Dave Clark Five on vinyl, and thanks to my vinyl archiver, I’ve been listening to DC5 quite a lot lately. No matter what, their music always puts a smile on my face.

Thanks for your music, Mike!

*sigh* My computer won’t let me post this, but click here to see a video of my favorite Dave Clark Five song, “Because.”

One Response to “R.I.P, Mike Smith”

  1. Majik March 2, 2008 at 3:38 pm #

    I saw the DC5 several yearly from 1964 to 1968 when they were touring the States twice yearly until they stopped touring and several times when I was in Britain. I was fortunate enough to chat with the group several times. I saw Mike ‘s Rock Engine four times. Mike was ever the gentleman and a bit mischievous. He and Denis Payton are tremendous talents. Though my day is darker, Heaven is a brighter place.

Leave a Reply

