What’s Going On – Oscars, Idol, ‘Cherub’

25 Feb

Merry Monday to you.

The Red-Eye Report was feeling a little down this weekend, so he’ll return next week.

One of these years, I promise, I’m going to actually live blog something like the Oscars. But I was – big surprise – working late last night so I couldn’t. Doesn’t mean I can’t ramble about it this morning, though.

Diablo Cody and Javier Bardem’s wins made my night – both of them are so super awesome.

But my very favorite part was all about “Once.” Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova won Best Song for “Falling Slowly” from “Once.” Even better, their thank-yous were some of the best speeches I’ve heard at an award show.

(hint: It’s below! and please stick around for Marketa’s wonderful speech)

By the way, I’m still telling you – if you haven’t seen “Once,” you’re really missing out. It’s one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. It reminded me of why I fell in love with music in the first place.

For all kinds of Oscar goodies, check out the official site.

OK – on to other news…

  • Here’s a cool piece on “No Country for Old Men.”
  • Colton Berry has no idea why he was kicked off “American Idol,” but he swears it wasn’t because of his performance. Whatever helps you sleep at night, kid. Here are interviews with the first four goners.
  • Common is working on a new album and has some tour dates in the works, too.

Thanks to Heath from the Desk of Copy for this gem: “Cherub.”
It’s a spoof of “Angel.” You’ll love the evil Dogboy and Goat, as well as an appearance by a Muffy-bot (oh yeah!). So far there are two seasons, and each episode lasts 4-7 minutes. Enjoy!

P.S. – Last week I wrote about indie music stores and I mentioned Blue Heaven Retro in Water Valley. I don’t get the chance to go to Water Valley much, so I didn’t know it had closed — but, of course, I found out when I drove up there Saturday. If and when the store re-opens, I’ll let y’all know.

Leave a Reply

