What’s Going On – Benjamin’s, indie stores, new CDs

21 Feb

Happy Thursday afternoon. I’ve blogged quite a bit today so I promise this will be the last one! I mean, unless something major happens, of course. 🙂

  • Benjamin’s On Main is having a grand opening tonight of a new blues room. Check out their MySpace page for more info.
  • “How I Met Your Mother” fans: The show is getting a new timeslot.
  • Coldplay is nearly done with a new CD.
  • Justin Timberlake will star in a baseball movie.
  • Here are all the dates for the Police/Elvis Costello tour. If you don’t want to travel very far, Elvis and his crew and coming to Memphis to the New Daisy…but sans Police, obviously.
  • Independent record stores are celebrating Record Store Day on April 19. Although it doesn’t look like some of the best indie stores around here are participating just yet, visit them anyway. You won’t be disappointed. My favorites are Album Alley in Tupelo, Blue Heaven in Water Valley and Top Shelf in Corinth.

Random note of musicness…

So recently I heard Lisa Loeb’s “How” in a movie and remembered how much I loved her growing up.

So last week I put two of her records, “Tails” (with her band Nine Stories) and “Firecracker,” on my iPod.

I bought “Tails” because I was in love with “Stay,” which was a huge hit on the “Reality Bites” soundtrack. I was seriously obsessed with this song – to this day, my mom says that’s the song that reminds her of me.

“Tails” came out when I was 12 and it blew my mind. I slowly stopped listening to it during my teen years and I didn’t listen to it at all during college. It’s soo cool…but a little eerie…to hear it now. But even all these years later I’m still in love with her music.

Do you have an album like this – an old favorite you’ve re-discovered?

For old times’ sake. 🙂

2 Responses to “What’s Going On – Benjamin’s, indie stores, new CDs”

  1. April Perea February 21, 2008 at 10:12 pm #

    I won a talent show singing “Stay”. I also love the song, “Do You Sleep?”

    Good memories…

  2. sheenabarnett February 21, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    Yes! That’s a great one too!!

Leave a Reply

