Valentine’s Day tuneage

14 Feb

Valentine’s Day – either you love it or hate it.

This year I’m doing a little of both (OK, probably a little more hating it than loving it, but that’s a story for another time). In my Monday column I wrote about my favorite anti-love songs like “Never Again” by Kelly Clarkson or “You’re So Vain” by Carly Simon.

To celebrate my love/hate relationship with Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d list a bunch of songs about love – either being in love or being out of love. So, if you’re single, check out the more snarky songs; if you’re taken, enjoy the lovey dovey tunes.

Click on the songs and see the song lyrics!

    • “My Love” by Justin Timberlake. Possibly the sexiest song to come out this decade.
    • “To Know Love” by Little Big Town. Every country song should be this simple, graceful and heartfelt.
    • “Making Memories of Us” by Keith Urban. I’m not much of a Keith Urban fan, but I’m a fan of this song. Like the LBT song, it’s very simple and emotional.
    • Whatta Man” by Salt-N-Pepa and En Vogue. Contains one of the best lines ever: “You so crazy/I think I wanna have your baby.”
    • “Luv Addict” by Family Force 5. Cover yourself in glitter, bust out the cardboard and sing along with me: “Hold up, wait a minute, PUT A LITTLE LOVE IN IT!”
    • “See You Again” by Miley Cyrus/Hannah Montana. I’m sorry but this is the catchiest song I’ve heard in forever.
    • “Dry Your Eyes” by the Streets. This is, hands down, the most painful, true break-up song.
    • “Easy Girl” by Coconut Records. This song makes you want to skip through the daisies on a bright sunny days with rabbits and squirrels and birds and puppies and kittens and bees that don’t sting.

      There are hundreds and thousands of others (I’m even leaving out my ultimate favorite, “God Only Knows” by the Beach Boys) but I’ll keep it to that…

        And a valentine to you – that’s right, you: here’s the video for “Kiss You Off” by the Scissor Sisters. Seriously, this video is perfection…when I grow up I want to be Ana Matronic.

        Share your favorite love/anti-love tunes!

        Leave a Reply

