Let’s talk…Oscar noms

22 Jan

Here’s a partial list of Oscar nominations, which were announced this morning. For a full list, click here.

Best Picture
“Juno”
“No Country for Old Men”
“Michael Clayton”
“There Will Be Blood”
“Atonement”

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett, “Elizabeth: The Golden Age”
Ellen Page, “Juno”
Laura Linney, “The Savages”
Marion Cotillard, “La Vie En Rose”
Julie Christie, “Away From Her”

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Cate Blanchett, “I’m Not There”
Saoirse Ronan, “Atonement”
Amy Ryan, “Gone Baby Gone”
Tilda Swinton, “Michael Clayton”
Ruby Dee, “American Gangster”

Best Actor
Johnny Depp, “Sweeney Todd”
Daniel Day-Lewis, “There Will Be Blood”
George Clooney, “Michael Clayton”
Viggo Mortenson, “Eastern Promises”
Tommy Lee Jones, “In the Valley of Elah”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Javier Bardem, “No Country for Old Men”
Phillip Seymour Hoffman, “Charlie Wilson’s War”
Casey Affleck, “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford”
Hal Holbrook, “Into the Wild”
Tom Wilkinson, “Michael Clayton”

So…thoughts? I’m happy “Juno” is getting so much attention, especially Ellen Page, who so rocked that movie.

The Academy would be insane not to give the Best Supporting Actor prize to Javier Bardem. It’s a wonder I’m not still having nightmares about that movie.

As much as I love Johnny Depp – and his “Sweeney Todd” performance – I have a feeling Daniel Day-Lewis probably deserves his award. I still haven’t seen “There Will Be Blood” (gosh, when is that coming here??), but I’ve heard amazing reviews for it, so I’ll bet he’ll take it home.

“La Vie En Rose” has been on my Netflix queue for a while, so I still haven’t seen it. Still, I’ll bet Marion Cotillard wins for this, too. I’ve heard scary good things about her performance.

“Michael Clayton” is being re-released in about 1,000 theaters across the nation soon, so hopefully those of us who missed this apparently awesome movie will get a second chance.

Alright, talk back. What movies/performers were cheated? Who do you want to win? Will you even watch?

4 Responses to “Let’s talk…Oscar noms”

  1. farley662 January 22, 2008 at 12:24 pm #

    No Sweeney Todd for best picture? Or Simpsons Movie for animated film? I can say, without question, this is probably the least interest I’ve had in a long time. I’m not watching. I’m on a writers strike strike!

  2. poprockcandy January 22, 2008 at 1:01 pm #

    Knocked Up deserved a nod–just because something is filthy doesn’t mean that it’s not deserving.

    And where was Waitress? Andy Griffith and Keri Russell were totally worthy of nominations.

    My film maker friend said that “Blood” is too long and pretentious–“the only good thing about was Daniel Day Lewis, and no, there was not any blood.”

  3. sheenabarnett January 22, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    I agree w/ you Farley, I think there should’ve been a nom for “Sweeney Todd.” I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of that movie. Of course I’m a Johnny Depp-Tim Burton fan.

    Andy definitely deserved a nomination! Dude, that was the best role he’s had in a while. Besides, he used words like “hussy,” which was fabulous.

    I’ll watch, I suppose, but this is probably one of the more least interesting years. I think it’s pretty obvious who’ll win in each category.

  4. Ginny January 23, 2008 at 9:22 am #

    I haven’t seen the other best picture-nominated movies, but I saw “Juno” and loved it!

Leave a Reply

