“American Idol,” Jan. 22

22 Jan

OK, seriously, “American Idol” needs to chop down these audition shows. Thankfully, the show was only an hour tonight, but I get the feeling a lot of people are getting weary of these “audition” shows. What do you think? I say, cut the wackos, stop making fun of the people who think they can actually sing and show some talented people.

Anyway. On to the folks who made it to Hollywood.

First of the night was Tatiana…I’m sure I got her last name wrong so I’m not even going to try. She sang “Someone to Watch Over Me.” Sure, it was fine, but Simon said everything with two lines: “You’re not as good as you think you are” and “OB-noxious.” Oh yeah. Maybe she’ll come down to earth a little in H’wood.

Single dad Perrie Cataldo sang “I’ll Make Love to You” well. Simon said he had a “really really good voice.”

Michael Jones is a heartbreaker. The Aussie sang “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long.” Not the BEST version but he did it very well. The judges dubbed him a white soul singer. I look forward to what he’ll do in Hollywood.

Samantha Musa was OK with her take on Aretha’s “Until You Come Back.” The judges said she was excellent, but I worry she may get lost in the crowd.

David Archuletta did a pretty awesome job of “Waiting on the World to Change” (ahh, refreshing song choice), especially considering one of his vocal chords was/is? half-paralyzed. He sounded a tiny bit weak but otherwise pretty good.

Carly Smithson made it to Hollywood in season 5 but couldn’t actually go because of visa problems. She’s going back now, based on her performance of “I’m Every Woman.”

Talk back — what did you like about tonight? What did you hate? Should they cut out this audition round or keep it in?

7 Responses to ““American Idol,” Jan. 22”

  1. farley662 January 22, 2008 at 10:41 pm #

    Watching the TIVO’d version now. What on Earth was up with the Mexican hippie? I’m really tired of the rejects. None of these people are all that great so far. I agree with Simon, for a hippie, dude was depressing!

  2. farley662 January 22, 2008 at 10:49 pm #

    Ok, I’m digging the Irish chick. Mostly because she’s Irish.

  3. sheenabarnett January 22, 2008 at 11:17 pm #

    Yep…lots of alright folks, maybe one or two to look out for, but otherwise, a depressing night, and no, the hippie guy didn’t help.

  4. poprockcandy January 23, 2008 at 12:06 am #

    just testing something….

  5. poprockcandy January 23, 2008 at 12:07 am #

    Oh yeah….I’m linked up

  6. Ginny January 23, 2008 at 9:28 am #

    I hate that I missed Tuesday’s show, but you’re right about the rejects. That’s just for ratings, I guess. Some of those people should know better, like the Star Wars chick and the 70s nightmare social worker last week. What do they expect? And remember the scooter girl a few years back?

  7. sheenabarnett January 23, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    Look at you, Sir Poprockcandy…you are a wise one among us.

    LOL! Ginny I almost forgot about the Scooter girl. I think I saw something a while back and she said she just happened to have her scooter with her and didn’t mean for it to become a schtick. Evil producers.

Leave a Reply

