Music & movies

20 Jan

Two totally unrelated bits for a late Sunday afternoon.

  • “Cloverfield” – you’re either going to love it or hate it. Of course I have a few small problems with it, but my small problems are easily forgotten by the experience of it as a whole. I loved it. Read this week’s Scene to find out what our own M. Scott Morris and the Wizard crew thought about it.
  •  What songs do you want played at your wedding? Which songs are totally off limits? We’ve got a special brides section coming up soon, and my story is all about wedding music. I want to create two lists: songs that are great for weddings and songs that are terrible for weddings (or maybe just terrible in general). Throw in your input in the comments section and I’ll get it in the paper.

Thanks!!

25 Responses to “Music & movies”

  1. farley662 January 20, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    Never needs to be heard at a wedding.

    Jimmy Buffet-Why Don’t We Get Drunk(And Screw)

  2. farley662 January 20, 2008 at 6:56 pm #

    Unless it’s a wedding between two University of Alabama grads.

  3. tupelobizbuzz January 21, 2008 at 1:31 pm #

    Hey, Sheena. I saw the blurb on djournal for Monday movie night at the Link Centre. Do you know anything about it? Have you gone? Do a lot of people go? What type of crowd is it?

  4. sheenabarnett January 21, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    Hey Bizbuzz,

    Yeah, the Link Centre is featuring different films like once a month or so on Mondays. This week’s is “Amelie.” I went back when they showed “It’s a Wonderful Life.” Wonderful atmosphere, very welcoming, but I think there were maybe two other folks there besides me and Leslie. Such a shame, because we had a wonderful time.

    Hey Farley — lol, you’re out to get the Alabama folk, eh?

  5. tupelobizbuzz January 21, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    Wow. Quick response. Thanks!

    Did you ever go to the $2 movie nights at the Turner Center at Ole Miss? That’s what I’m picturing.

  6. tupelobizbuzz January 21, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    As far as wedding songs, I’m a fan of wedding parties that like to get the dance moving right along. Think “YMCA,” “Baby got back,” “Macarena” … And any Madonna (Material Girl, Like a Virgin, etc.)

    And ones to avoid – “Before He Cheats” by Carrie Underwood and the one by the Dixie Chicks about Earl. Bad mojo.

  7. sheenabarnett January 21, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    I never went to those at the Turner Center, so I don’t really know. But they have it up on a middle-size screen, have lots of good snacks (or at least they looked good:)) and, like I said, the atmosphere was nice. They let folks bring in some more comfortable chairs and all. Kind of like sitting in your own living room.

    LOL, love your suggestions. I, too, am a fan of the dancing wedding receptions. Luckily my grandma would find it funny if I played something like “Hot in Herre” or “Baby Got Back.”

    “Before He Cheats”…brilliant!

  8. poprockcandy January 21, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    Oh my God. You have the famous Farley commenting on Scene Now. He’s a commenting legend!!! This is awesome!

    My wedding song: I want my first dance to be to Anne Murray’s “Could I have This Dance” just like Bud and Sissy did in “Urban Cowboy.” Then, on the ride home, I would put the “Jeff” and “Wife” license plates behind the respective people. Then, it’s off to Gilley’s to two-step to Johnny Lee’s “Cheroke Fiddle.”

  9. poprockcandy January 21, 2008 at 3:51 pm #

    Whoopsie. I meant “Cherokee Fiddle.”

  10. poprockcandy January 21, 2008 at 3:52 pm #

    At the reception, it’s all about dancing with Grannie to “Bust A Move.”

  11. farley662 January 21, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    D-I-V-O-R-C-E by Tammy Wynette
    Love Stinks by J. Geils Band
    You’re Cheatin Heart by Hank Sr.
    You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’ by Righteous Brothers
    Cry Me a River by JT
    Heartbreak Hotel by Elvis

    A few if your getting married because someone’s knocked up.

  12. farley662 January 21, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    Almost forgot;

    My Baby Daddy by B Rock and the Bizz

    Who dat iz? That just my baby daddy!

  13. sheenabarnett January 21, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    woo-hoo, poprockcandy, your posts are finally showing up! what crazy posting god did you bow down to this time?

    lol, farley, those are wonderful.

  14. farley662 January 21, 2008 at 4:08 pm #

    Slow day in State sports. Plus, I dig Sheena’s picture! Reminds me of Tina Fey.

  15. sheenabarnett January 21, 2008 at 4:19 pm #

    ha ha, i wish! it’s a lot better than that one that’s in the paper. one very, very kind reader broke my heart recently. he called to ask me what rap CDs i recommend. after talking about a couple of records he said my photo in the paper looks like a choir girl and i looked like i know only about choir music. *ouch* still, he was a sweetheart so i can’t really complain. 🙂

    but yeah, i look nothing like tina fey…unfortunately. 😦

  16. poprockcandy January 21, 2008 at 4:20 pm #

    Or maybe I would just hire Scrantonicity

  17. farley662 January 21, 2008 at 4:25 pm #

    As long as Kevin sings You Outta Know!

  18. poprockcandy January 21, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    ONLY if Kevin sings “You Outta Know” AND “The Gambler”

  19. farley662 January 21, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    Check out this wedding video;

  20. sheenabarnett January 22, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    yeah, that video is awesome! seems like that’s the new hot thing for weddings or something.

  21. farley662 January 22, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    When I got married I did a strip tease for the wife. Lap dance and all!

  22. farley662 January 22, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    Of course it was after the wedding reception, but I brought sexy back!

  23. tupelobizbuzz January 22, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    How about Smashmouth’s “I’m a believer,” Beyonce’s “Crazy in love,” and then the one that starts with “Have I told you lately that I love you?”

  24. sheenabarnett January 22, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    I can certainly dig some Beyonce. I’m off to make wedding lists!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Actors and Actresses » Music & movies Scene Now - February 3, 2008

    […] Read more about this topic from the author here. […]

Leave a Reply

