In the Arena, 1/4

3 Jan

BY TODD HUNT

Happy New Year!

If you’re like me, it’s hard to get back in the swing of things after the holidays. I know that we’re moving at about half speed here at the Arena right now. Short work weeks seem to have that effect on us for some reason. Good thing that WWE, the Royal Lipizzaner Stallions, and the Northeast Mississippi Championship Rodeo aren’t until later this month!

This week’s blog will focus on my goals for the upcoming year. Notice I didn’t call them “resolutions.” To me, when you break a resolution it’s hard to go back and try again. With a goal, you can always continue striving to achieve no matter how many times you might fail. I guess that would be the optimistic view, as opposed to the pessimistic view?

Anyway, here are my goals for the Arena for 2008:

BOOK MORE CONCERTS – This is my obvious top priority for 2008. Looking back at the history of the Arena, in our best years we hosted twelve concerts per fiscal year (Oct. 1 – Sept. 30). So far we have hosted four concerts (Casting Crowns, Willie Nelson, Breaking Benjamin/Three Days Grace and Aaron Neville) with four more (Gaither Homecoming, Winter Jam, Reba/Kelly Clarkson, and Kid Rock) on the books. I would love to find at least four more shows for the rest of the year to put us at our target of twelve shows.

BOOK MORE DIVERSE ACTS – While we have a duty to be fiscally responsible (which means booking acts that generate profits for both the Arena and our promoter partners), we also have a responsibility to provide programming for everyone. There may not be enough demand in Northeast Mississippi to support a Scandinavian folk dance troupe performance, but we should have enough people that want to see something more than the traditional mainstream acts. We plan to use our theatre setup (1,500 seats) more in the coming year to allow us the opportunity to broaden our entertainment selections.

Well, those are my two main goals for 2008. Now it’s your turn. What acts would you like to see play the Arena in 2008? I’ve had suggestions from The Eagles to Widespread Panic to Van Morrison already. Please post your comments and I’ll see what I can do to make your requests happen.

Until next week,

Todd

20 Responses to “In the Arena, 1/4”

  1. Alan January 4, 2008 at 6:05 am #

    Kenny Chesney again!

  2. C. Hovland January 4, 2008 at 7:58 am #

    More ice skating offered throughout the year. It is a nice activity local youth and adults can enjoy in north Mississippi!

  3. steven January 4, 2008 at 9:17 am #

    I know my wife is dying to see Martina McBride.

  4. sheenabarnett January 4, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    Howdy Todd,

    Lots of good requests so far, but a lot of country! I must say, as more of a rock fan myself, I’d love to see y’all bring back more rock shows. I think a lot of folks really enjoyed the Seether/Breaking Benjamin show, and I think acts like My Chemical Romance (who have never *really* played much in the South — I’ve had to travel a bit to see them) would draw a big crowd. They’re the perfect size for the arena.

  5. Sean January 4, 2008 at 12:23 pm #

    A Hip Hop / R&B act.

    When is that last time we’ve had one here?

    It’s definetly an area where the arena has failed to be diverse.

    Week in – week out, the billboard charts show this is clearly the most popular genre going.

  6. Cindy January 4, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Bon Jovi!!!!!!

  7. KT January 4, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    I WOULD LOVE TO SEE SOME BLUEGRASS ACTS COME TO TOWN LIKE RHONDA VINCENT, DOYLE LAWSON, RICKY SCAGGS,
    ETC…

  8. Maggie January 4, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    I think a Widespread Panic show would be beyond awesome! I would love to see them in Tupelo. I think Reba/Kelly and Kid Rock will draw some big crowds. Anything country seems to do well here in Tupelo and some of the heavier rock groups have put on good shows also.

  9. Robin January 4, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    I would love to see Rascal Flatts and my daughter would love to see one of the High School Musical shows (either on ice or musical). I also think Taylor Swift would be a good draw and there is always Hanna Montana – if you can get her!

  10. David January 4, 2008 at 4:55 pm #

    3 doors down

  11. Angie January 4, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    One of the best concerts I’ve seen at the arena was Poison, Ratt, and Cheap Trick several years ago. A great 80’s flashback concert. It rocked! I would love to see another.

  12. Bobby January 4, 2008 at 7:37 pm #

    What about that little band from England called Led Zeppelin? They might draw a decent crowd.

  13. brenda January 4, 2008 at 8:32 pm #

    I would love to see George Strait or Toby Keith come back to this area.

  14. Shirley Montes January 4, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    I have an idea that may be different. Have you guys ever thought of hosting a battle of the bands? I know alot of teens/ young adults would love to come see this and participate. Maybe offer a prize in conjunction with a local radio station, such as have that band’s song aired over the local station. I think that if the event if planned right it would be a hit. Just something to think about. And it could be not just rock, but any type of music, hip-hop-, rap, rock, christian. Evenhave some of the local DJ’s judge the event would be fun.

  15. Wesley January 4, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    I would like to see groups like Three Doors Down and Daughtry play at the arena

  16. Scott January 4, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    Hey Todd,

    I would like to see ice year round so we could re-organize youth hockey events and tournaments. The ones we had when the T-Rex were here were very successful and generated revenue for the entire city. i.e. hotels, restaurants, gas,etc.

  17. T. Kennedy January 4, 2008 at 11:08 pm #

    Justin Timberlake. He’s a cool guy and I love his songs…would def bring in more money for Tupelo and himself as well.

  18. stangreb January 5, 2008 at 8:42 pm #

    Hockey year round? The operations staff wouldn’t like that to well. There is a lot of work to keeping the ice in shape for a weekend of Disney, much less year round. Sounds like a goood idea but just not feaseable.

  19. Justin January 7, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    Linkin Park.. they are one band I bet Tupelo has never thought of getting and they have a little bit of everything from rock to rap in their songs.. they would do great.. along with some other bands….Foo Fighters, Nickelback, Chris Daughtry, etc…

  20. Justin January 7, 2008 at 8:59 am #

    also that battle of the bands idea would be great… also more Christian type concerts… something similar to Winter Jam always does great…

Leave a Reply

