Ramble on, 2008

2 Jan

It’s only two days into 2008, so instead of writing a blog full of hard entertainment news (yes, that exists), let’s just talk random stuff, eh?

  • Politics generally go over my head, but when politics and pop culture collide, it all starts making sense. That’s why I love this blog post that likens all the Republican candidates to “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” villains. I’d love to see this blog tackle the Democrats next.
  • “Sweeney Todd” is so worth your time. It is a true musical, so don’t go if you can’t handle two hours of pure music and maybe 10 minutes of actual dialogue. Johnny Depp was a little rock star-ish but otherwise awesome. Also, everyone has clamored all over themselves to call the movie gory, but it didn’t bother me a bit. I mean, have these people ever seen a “Saw” or “Hostel” movie? “Sweeney Todd” was nothing compared to those gorefests. Oh! and possibly the best part? Anthony Stewart Head (aka Buffy’s Giles) had a blink-and-you-miss-him scene. Very rad.
    • A message to the kids who are trying sooo hard to be cool: Sacha Baron Cohen (aka Borat) is in the movie, but doesn’t stay for very long. So, please, don’t squeal when he’s on the screen, giggle at his every facial expression and then groan loudly when he makes his exit. That makes you look really daft.
  • Just because some late night TV returns tonight doesn’t mean the writers’ strike is over. Here’s the latest.
  • So, just curious – how will you spend your iTunes giftcards (if you got ones for holiday, of course)? I spent one from my best friend, Hannah, on Blaqk Audio, who she loves. Techno/electronica generally freaks me out but for some reason I love Davey Havok’s voice, so that helps it all for me. I got a giftcard from my dad, too, and I think I’ll use it to buy the last Cornershop album. I bought the band’s “When I Was Born for the 7th Time” when it came out in ’97 and I’ve listened to it since. I think it’s time I bought their followup, “Handcream for a Generation,” which came out in 2002. 🙂

Leave a comment