Archive | 5:06 pm

Scene picks

26 Dec
  • “Sweeney Todd” is getting rave reviews, and check this week’s Scene to find out more.
  • Keith Sykes is taking the stage in Tupelo this weekend, and we’ve got the scoop. Read Scene to learn more.
  • Need something to do on New Year’s Eve? The Spunk Monkees are at Benjamin’s, and if you read Scene, we’ll tell you what else is going on.

Tell us what you’re doing this weekend!

Post-Christmas blues

26 Dec

It looks like a lot of people are still celebrating Christmas, so there’s not a lot of news to report. So I think I’ll ramble for a bit.

Alright, I’m not so blue that Christmas is over. On Christmas Eve, I started getting a little misty-eyed, wishing I had one more week to look at lights, put finishing touches on gifts and visit with folks. But by the latter part of Christmas Day, it hit me – hey, the fuss of the holidays are over! No more white chocolate-covered Ritz to make! No more worrying! I’ll miss the holidays; I always do. But I sure won’t miss that fuss.

So what’s your post-Christmas music? I’m sure lots of you cats got new music for Christmas, so don’t be ashamed to share it. I got my mom Keith Urban’s greatest hits, so she rocked out to that all day yesterday.

Speaking of parent presents – in Monday’s paper, my column listed my top 10 Christmas wishes. One of them was that my dad would like his Christmas gift, and he loved it! I got him a DVD player, the first season of “24” and “Stand By Me.” He was really excited about the movie – he had it on all day and he’s sneak back into his room to watch bits of it here and there. Kind of funny. Every so often we’d hear a train whistle and say, yep, he’s watching “Stand By Me” again. πŸ™‚

Back to post-Christmas tunes. The first thing I listened to this morning was Peter Bjorn and John‘s “Writer’s Block,” because that’s what I had on last night. That was fine but then I decided I needed something else…so I put my iPod on “The Beatles” and I’m letting it play through all the albums. Right now I’m on “Abbey Road.” My favorite Beatles album changes every so often – first it was “Revolver,” then the White Album, then “Sgt. Pepper’s,” but now it’s “Abbey Road.” I mean, really, is there a better piece of music in existence than “Sun King”?? OK. “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” or “Something” might be better. Might. Gosh I love this album.

Speaking of music still, have any of you had a chance to see VH1’s list of the best songs of the 90s? Here’s the complete list.

I’ve only caught bits and pieces – I apparently fussed over a lot this holiday so I haven’t had much time – but it seems like a pretty good list. I still feel like rambling so I thought I’d discuss a few of the choices, and mention a few they forgot:

1. “Smells Like Teen Spirit,” Nirvana – I still remember the first time I saw the video, and I still remember watching Kurt Loder announce that Kurt Cobain had killed himself.
2. “One,” U2 – Possibly my favorite U2 song ever. There are few songs that are as beautiful as this.
11. “Jeremy,” Pearl Jam – I was 9 when this song came out and I super loved it and the video. I think that scared my parents.
15. “Under the Bridge,” Red Hot Chili Peppers – I still remember hearing this song for the first time. My mom and I used to make fun of the way ole Anthony sang it – “take me to da place I luuuuuve.”
24. “Jump Around,” House of Pain – For some reason this was a huge inside joke when I was in high school. My friend James and I used to sing it all the time to each other…no idea why now. Maybe he remembers?
26. “My Name Is,” Eminem – I discovered this week that my dad has an (edited) album by Eminem he listens to all the time. So I burned him a copy of Jay-Z’s new record in the hopes he’ll listen to Jay-Z instead.
27. “Mr. Jones,” Counting Crows – My mom is still in love with this one.
40. “I Wanna Sex You Up,” Color Me Badd – My cousin loved this song but it always oogied me out. Granted I was too young to understand what it meant. I just knew it sounded oogie.
43. “My Lovin’ (You’re Never Gonna Get It)” En Vogue – L.O.V.E. this song.
45. “Only Wanna Be With You,” Hootie & the Blowfish – This song made it on the list but “Hold My Hand” didn’t? Where were these folks during the 90s?
48. “3 a.m.,” Matchbox Twenty – I super super loved Matchbox Twenty during the 90s. Saw them four times. They annoy me now but I still love Rob Thomas’ voice. They actually put out a few good tunes here and there – like “3 a.m.” and “If You’re Gone” – so I probably should put them on my iPod.
59. “Buddy Holly,” Weezer – One of the best videos ever.
67. “Groove is in the Heart,” Deee-lite – Online quizzes are pretty stupid but one told me this was my theme song once…and it was so true! Such a fun song.
66. “I’ll Be,” Edwin McCain – When my grandma was in the hospital, my dad and I bought my mom Edwin McCain’s album to cheer her up.
68. “Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It,” Will Smith – My news layout designer at The Daily Mississippian had the last name of Thigpen, so we used his name in many a song: “Gettin’ Thiggy wit it!” and “Thiggy Thiggy Thiggy, can’t you see, sometimes your words just hypnotize me.” He got into the Smith song and even would sing the na-na part of the song sometimes.
78. “Are You Gonna Go My Way,” Lenny Kravitz – I’m a nerd and I’m not cool, which is why I choreographed a clog dance to this song once. It was actually kind of good…but again I’m a nerd and not cool.
81. “I Don’t Want to Wait,” Paula Cole – Two slightly-related points: a) I saw Paula Cole once when she opened up for Matchbox Twenty (aah, the days of the Pyramid in Memphis), and b) I really don’t like this song but I love “Dawson’s Creek.” Please don’t tell anyone.
88. “Barely Breathing,” Duncan Sheik – I super loved Duncan Sheik in the 90s too. I don’t think people give him enough credit for his music, because a lot of it is so gorgeous.
90. “You Get What You Give,” New Radicals – I also got into the New Radicals in the 90s, but this song warranted No. 90 on the list? Really?
93. “Stay,” Lisa Loeb & Nine Stories – If I made a list of the top songs of the 90s, this would top my list. It’s scary how much I worshipped this song. It’s a great song and on the plus side I discovered Lisa Loeb, who I still think is pretty freaking awesome.
Forgotten favorites
“Just a Girl,” No Doubt: Love, love, love.
“Closer,” Nine Inch Nails: Brilliant, bloody brilliant.
“Bittersweet Symphony,” The Verve: Ahh, my mind swims when I hear this song.
“I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” The Proclaimers: Alright, I guess it’s not “great,” but I do love it quite a bit.

Alright, I’ve rambled a lot today. Talk back – tell me your 90s favorites, tell me what you got for Christmas, whatever. Just ramble. πŸ™‚