Archive | 10:45 pm

In the Arena, 12/21

20 Dec

BY TODD HUNT

We’re in the process of winding things down here at the arena for 2007, but we still have a couple of activities between now and Christmas.

Everyone’s favorite rap/rock/country artist Kid Rock will be making his first trip to Tupelo on February 20 with tickets going on sale this Saturday at 10 a.m.  We’re anticipating strong ticket sales for this one, so make sure you get yours early.

Also this weekend, we will be hosting public ice skating for the last time in 2007.  Sessions run from 1-3 p.m. and 3:30-5:30 p.m. both Saturday and Sunday.  Hope to see you there.

In response to a question posed by Tupelo Honey, the topic of today’s blog will be on my favorite band(s) and why there are on my list.  Here goes:

First, asking me to pick my favorite band is like asking me to pick my favorite child (I have three); I can’t single out just one.  For guidance, I looked on my iPod, but it was hard to choose with nearly 4,000 songs loaded onto my best Christmas present ever (thanks Melissa!).  So in no particular order I have assembled the following list. Feel free to comment in any way you are led.

LED ZEPPELIN:  As I said last week, I still consider them the greatest rock band of all time.  These four Brits manage to take the Delta blues and twist it into a sound that was all their own.  Unlike most other bands, there isn’t a single album or phase of their career that doesn’t quite measure up to the rest for me.  Even their outtakes (“Hey Hey What Can I Do”, “Traveling Riverside Blues”) are great.  The thing that gets me the most about their music is the incredible drumming of the late John Bonham.  His power remains unmatched by any other drummer ever.  There’s a reason my first dog was named “Bonham”…

THE BEATLES:  Rock’s greatest songwriters.  The four lads from Liverpool perfected the art of rock and roll.  I’m a bigger fan of their later period material as opposed to the initial, singles-oriented sound, but it’s all good (even the songs Ringo sings!).

THE ROLLING STONES:  The original bad boys of rock.  Mick and Keef (aka the Glimmer Twins) churned out some great tunes in the sixties and seventies (and a few good ones in the early eighties).  The newer material hasn’t quite held up to the high standards they set for themselves, but not every album can be as good as “Exile on Main Street” or “Sticky Fingers.”

THE REPLACEMENTS:  OK, I know some of you are going “who”?  This was the quintessential band of my college days.  The thing I loved about them was their spirit.  Coupled with Paul Westerberg’s gift for songwriting, it made for the ultimate rock and roll band of the eighties.  Of course, I do pretend that they broke up before they released their last album (which was way too sappy for my taste!).  If you’re unfamiliar with their work, I highly recommend checking out the albums “Let It Be,” “Tim,” and “Pleased to Meet Me.”

Those would be my top tier acts.  After that, there are many groups that I enjoy various periods of their work but not their entire catalog (Prince, Pearl Jam, the Allman Brothers, Ozzy, Bruce Springsteen, Billy Joel, Van Halen, the Hoodoo Gurus, R.E.M., U2, the Grateful Dead, Red Hot Chili Peppers), and some groups I didn’t think existed long enough to qualify for the top of the list (Blind Melon, Nirvana).

So there’s my list of bands.  Making this list led me to think about my favorite albums, so look for that list real soon.  Until then, I wish all of you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Todd

Scene picks …

20 Dec

Here are some things to do this weekend …

– Law of Nature returns to Starkville Friday night. The band will be at Rick’s Cafe in Starkville.

– Celebrate a Country Christmas at Good Time Charlie’s in Tupelo Saturday night with Ronnie McDowell. 

– M. Scott Morris and Kelli Karlson of Wizard 106 let you know how Will Smith’s new movie – ‘I Am Legend’ is in this week’s Scene.

Find out about all those events and read the concert grid in Scene today in the Daily Journal.

Tell us what you are going to do this weekeknd! Comment below.