Movie review – No Country for Old Men

13 Dec

Last night I finally caught “No Country for Old Men.”

I walked in knowing nearly nothing about the movie, other than it was a Coen Bros. film and Javier Bardem plays Chigurh, a psychotic killer.

The plot on IMDB says, “Violence and mayhem ensue after a hunter stumbles upon some dead bodies, a stash of heroin and more than $2 million in cash near the Rio Grande.”

Yeah, that’s pretty well it, but at the same time, it’s not, either.

This is one of the best, if not the best, movies of the year. Definitely the best movie made in a long, long time. Everything about it – the plot, dialogue, sound, acting, everything else – is perfect. Tommy Lee Jones is exquisite, and Josh Brolin, Woody Harrelson and Kelly Macdonald are all wonderful.

Because everything is so good, it makes quite an impact. It’s very intense; when I left the theater I thought I’d need to shake myself a little because I’d just sat nearly motionless, scared to barely move, for two hours.

And it is scary. I’ll see Bardem in my nightmares now for weeks, that’s for sure. Absolutely terrifying. I’ve heard some reviewers say he’s so scary he’s funny, but I was too afraid to laugh.

This is one of those movies, though, that is so perfect but is so hard to watch. The violence is true-to-life to say the least.

Although this is such a wonderful, outstanding movie – one that, really, I enjoyed – I don’t want to see it again. I’m not sure I could do it again. But, please, go – you will be so thankful you did. It is, at times, a pure joy to see, but other times are hard to watch. Still, I’m thankful I saw it. You’re always thankful to see perfection.

2 Responses to “Movie review – No Country for Old Men”

  1. Bix December 13, 2007 at 10:26 am #

    I was really terrified when he plays that coin game with that shop keepr. His hairstyle added to the scaryness.

  2. sheenabarnett December 13, 2007 at 10:38 am #

    That is a truly terrifying scene. It’s like the rest of the movie — very well written, but totally eerie.

    Another scene that really bothered me? Seeing the shoe scuffs on the floor that the cop left after he killed him. Creeped me out beyond words.

Leave a Reply

