The Red-Eye Report, Dec. 10

10 Dec

BY JOSHUA BLAKE

Ok, here’s the long and the short of it.

This weekend hasn’t been good at all. I had to go shopping this weekend and that was bad enough. Second of all, I am now sick. But between my road rage-induced outbursts of profanity on Gloster Street and having a headache that would topple a horse, I sneeked in a couple of hours of “Assassin’s Creed” on the XBox 360.

From the screen shots I’d seen and the reviews I’d read, I was ready for a game that would change my life. Kinda like my own little revival, only with out all the shouting and asking for money. Man, was I disappointed…kinda.

From everything I had seen, this was a “Grand Theft Auto”-type action-adventure, only set in the Middle East during the Crusades. But when I started the game, it didn’t look anything like what I had seen or heard about.

So here is what the game makers did: they put the twist at the beginning of the game. That’s right, the very BEGINNING! Are you kidding me? What’s the use of playing now?! I love twists in video games, always have, always will. I remember play the orginal “Metroid” all the way through just to find out that this awesome warrior I had been playing as was a girl. That was very tramatic for the eight-year-old me. But back to the review.
The game play is fair. The controls have a good time only responding when they want to and it becomes very unsettling when am trying to pick a guy’s pocket and he is able to turn around and, as my mother would say, slap the taste out of my mouth.

The storyline is weak. It’s just like watching “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End” for the third time and still have no idea what is going on.

The one thing that game does have going for it is the visuals. Holy cow! Some of the views you get when standing on top of a mosque are so breath-taking, you just want to keep standing there and take it in.

That’s about it. If you are looking for a game to get with all that Christmas money, put it toward Rock Band (see last week’s review). “Assassian’s Creed” is not a game to buy until they come off of the $59.99 price tag.

That’s all for this week. Check back next week for a very special Holiday’s Edition of the Red-Eye Report.

Oh, if you would like to know what the twist in this game is, write me at theredeyereport@yahoo.com or http://www.myspace.com/theredeyereport and I will let you know what it is.  It’s time for a little Nyquil.  I’ll see you when the sun goes down.

One Response to “The Red-Eye Report, Dec. 10”

  1. 3rb0 December 17, 2007 at 3:49 pm #

    Thank u For Blogging

    http://1tb.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

