What’s going on – Led Zeppelin, Sweeney Todd

4 Dec

Happy Tuesday!

I’m not bragging on myself at all but rather on Scene Now’s Boys – Todd Hunt and Joshua Blake. Talk about the Arena and a review of “Rock Band”? Yep, Scene Now’s knocking it out of the park, if I do say so myself.

Gosh. My friend Jeff gave me a huge bunch of music this weekend, and I’ve barely even dipped into it. I’m working on the first Band of Horses record and the new Rufus Wainwright (not the Rufus Does Judy one, but “Release the Stars”). I just can’t move on yet.

Speaking of music, I have a funny entertainment-related dream to share with y’all. I dreamed that the new Tim Burton-Johnny Depp movie “Sweeney Todd” wouldn’t feature the musical’s original music, but instead all of the songs were Jeff Buckley tunes. I actually dreamed I could see Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter in full movie-costume mode, and Johnny was singing “Morning Theft” by Jeff Buckley. Weird.

Speaking of Sweeney Todd music, click on audio on the movie’s Web site and you can hear the movie’s tunes. Woo-hoo! You know, I’ve never gone to the movies on Christmas, but I just might do that with “Sweeney Todd.” I’m really that excited about it.

Anyway, I’ve blabbed enough. Here’s some exciting news.

  • Feel guilty for stealing music? You can use this Web site, Dear Rockers, to pay them back for any music you’ve swiped.
  • The latest Zac Efron movie, “17,” is kind of like “Big,” only reversed. Buffy’s Michelle Trachtenberg just joined the cast, too.
  • Click here to listen to new records by “American Idol” runner up Blake Lewis and Wyclef Jean and the “Dewey Cox” soundtrack.
  • I’m a total girl who only watches the Super Bowl for the halftime show. I watched Prince last year, and I’ll watch Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers at next year’s show. Woot!
  • Woot part 2! More photos of “The Dark Knight!” I’m really excited about Heath Ledger=the Joker.

And are you watching Sci-Fi’s “Tin Man”? It’s a re-working of “The Wizard of Oz.”
I’m taping it (yes, taping it, old-school…shut up, I’m a poor journalist who can’t afford one of those fancy Tivo things), and so far I’ve only watched maybe 20 minutes. I’m not impressed so far but hopefully it gets way better.

What do you think?

3 Responses to “What’s going on – Led Zeppelin, Sweeney Todd”

  1. Daniel Lee December 4, 2007 at 9:56 pm #

    I think that girl playing D.G. in Tin Man is not the most talented actor in the world. Her range seems to consist of varying blank stares, and apathetic line delivery.
    The pacing of plot points, dialogue, action, etc also seems to be really clunky.
    And the production design comes across as kinda bland to me.

    Better just stick to Judy Garland.

    Or even The Wiz!

  2. sara December 5, 2007 at 7:52 am #

    I like Led Zeppelin 🙂

  3. sheenabarnett December 5, 2007 at 10:14 am #

    Hey Daniel,

    I must admit, I still haven’t watched all of “Tin Man,” but it seems like D.G. has the same look on her face throughout the whole show….and yeah, “varying blank stares” is a good way to describe it.

    You know, nothing will ever beat “Ocho”!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

