Archive | 11:47 am

Kid Rock in Tupelo?

4 Dec

According to Billboard.com, Kid Rock‘s upcoming tour with Rev. Run from Run-DMC will make a stop in Tupelo at the BancorpSouth Arena.

We’re looking into this, and we’ll let you know when things are confirmed.

UPDATE: The BancorpSouth Arena can’t confirm this just yet, but it is being announced on Billboard, Kid Rock’s Web site and Pollstar.com.

Also: Two popular Mexican singers – Sergio Gomez with K-Paz de la Sierra and Zayda Pena – have been killed. Click here for more.

Also Part 2: Pimp C from UGK was found dead this morning. Learn more here.

What’s going on – Led Zeppelin, Sweeney Todd

4 Dec

Happy Tuesday!

I’m not bragging on myself at all but rather on Scene Now’s Boys – Todd Hunt and Joshua Blake. Talk about the Arena and a review of “Rock Band”? Yep, Scene Now’s knocking it out of the park, if I do say so myself.

Gosh. My friend Jeff gave me a huge bunch of music this weekend, and I’ve barely even dipped into it. I’m working on the first Band of Horses record and the new Rufus Wainwright (not the Rufus Does Judy one, but “Release the Stars”). I just can’t move on yet.

Speaking of music, I have a funny entertainment-related dream to share with y’all. I dreamed that the new Tim Burton-Johnny Depp movie “Sweeney Todd” wouldn’t feature the musical’s original music, but instead all of the songs were Jeff Buckley tunes. I actually dreamed I could see Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter in full movie-costume mode, and Johnny was singing “Morning Theft” by Jeff Buckley. Weird.

Speaking of Sweeney Todd music, click on audio on the movie’s Web site and you can hear the movie’s tunes. Woo-hoo! You know, I’ve never gone to the movies on Christmas, but I just might do that with “Sweeney Todd.” I’m really that excited about it.

Anyway, I’ve blabbed enough. Here’s some exciting news.

  • Feel guilty for stealing music? You can use this Web site, Dear Rockers, to pay them back for any music you’ve swiped.
  • The latest Zac Efron movie, “17,” is kind of like “Big,” only reversed. Buffy’s Michelle Trachtenberg just joined the cast, too.
  • Click here to listen to new records by “American Idol” runner up Blake Lewis and Wyclef Jean and the “Dewey Cox” soundtrack.
  • I’m a total girl who only watches the Super Bowl for the halftime show. I watched Prince last year, and I’ll watch Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers at next year’s show. Woot!
  • Woot part 2! More photos of “The Dark Knight!” I’m really excited about Heath Ledger=the Joker.

And are you watching Sci-Fi’s “Tin Man”? It’s a re-working of “The Wizard of Oz.”
I’m taping it (yes, taping it, old-school…shut up, I’m a poor journalist who can’t afford one of those fancy Tivo things), and so far I’ve only watched maybe 20 minutes. I’m not impressed so far but hopefully it gets way better.

What do you think?

December entertainment

4 Dec

Here’s entertainment you can find in December.

Don’t have a duck if you don’t see these on shelves or on the big screen this month. The dates may change. So keep an eye out!

MUSIC

Dec. 4
“Audio Daydream,” Blake Lewis
“Rufus Does Judy at Carnegie Hall,” Rufus Wainwright (DVD of the show also on sale the same day)
“Good Times, Bad Times – 10 Years of Godsmack,” Godsmack
“Carnival II,” Wyclef Jean

Dec. 11
“Face Off,” Omarion and Bow Wow
“8 Diagrams,” Wu-Tang Clan
“Hate It Or Love It,” Chingy

Dec. 18
“Growing Pains,” Mary J. Blige
“The Cool,” Lupe Fiasco
“Alone – The Home Recordings of Rivers Cuomo,” Rivers Cuomo
MOVIES

Dec. 7
“The Golden Compass”

Dec. 12
“The Perfect Holiday”

Dec. 14
“Alvin & the Chipmunks”
“I Am Legend”

Dec. 21
“Sweeney Todd”
“Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story”
“P.S. I Love You”
“National Treasure: Book of Secrets”
“Charlie Wilson’s War”

Dec. 28
“The Kite Runner”

DVD

Dec. 4
“Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End”
“Superbad”

Dec. 11
“Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix”
“The Bourne Ultimatum”

Dec. 18
“Stardust”
“The Simpsons Movie”
“Once”
“Balls of Fury”
“Underdog”
“Deep Water”
“Blade Runner: The Final Cut”