Thanksgiving playlist

22 Nov

d1c1a848aa234f1da1df9060e400ad5d.jpg

The Associated Press
Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, 1930

So, I know no one generally reads blogs on weekends or holidays, but I got to thinking: if I’m working on a holiday, I’ll bet other folks are, too. And maybe they need a little blog to help their day go by faster.

So what kind of music goes on a Thanksgiving playlist? I don’t know for sure, but mine will have songs that remind me of the people I’m thankful for.

I’ve been pretty preoccupied lately with the idea of songs that remind me of people. So, here’s a very short, not-at-all-complete list of people that mean a lot to me and the songs that remind me of them.

  • “Let’s Stay Together,” Al Green.
    Person: My mom, who thinks Al Green is the most awesomest person on the planet. And he very well may be.
  • “Desperado,” The Eagles.
    Person: My dad doesn’t really talk much about music but I once heard him say he liked this song. He likes Stevie Nicks a lot, too.
  • “Black,” Pearl Jam.
    Person: My cousin Shawna. Once we drove around in her cherry red Trans-Am listening to this song, and it made me feel really cool. “Infinite,” if you want to borrow from “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.”
  • “Dragostea Din Tei,” O-ZONE.
    Person: My best friend, Hannah. Yep, the “Numa Numa” song is our song.
  • “Stitches,” Orgy.
    Person: My friend Carmen. Carmen and I met online 10 years ago, and for the longest time we’d send mixed tapes to each other. She had the biggest crush on the lead singer of Orgy.
  • “Maybe I’m Amazed,” Paul & Linda McCartney.
    Person: My friend Will. Like Carm, I met Will online 10 years ago. We never really traded much music, but we liked to sing in chats. We’re both pretty sarcastic so if one of us had big news or something, the other one would go, “maybe I’m amazed.” And then we’d break into some Paul & Linda.
  • “Don’t Dream It’s Over,” Crowded House.
    Person: My friend Jeff. He put this on one of the first mixed CDs he made me when we first met, and it was, hands down, the most important song on the whole CD for me.
  • “My Humps,” Black-Eyed Peas.
    Person: My friend Jeremy. We were managers together at the Ole Miss Student Media Center, and he used to call me at 3 a.m. and sing this song to me. Then, he sang it to my parents at a j-school ceremony.
  • “Party Like a Rock Star,” Shop Boyz.
    Person: My friend Stephanie. I won’t tell you what lyrics she thought they were saying, but it was fun to dance to this with her on the way to Mexican night.
  • “Face Down,” Red Jumpsuit Apparatus.
    Person: My friend Lori. The first time I heard this song, it was as a ringtone on her phone, and she was so in love with the song that she was practically jumping in my car.
  • “Captain Jack,” Billy Joel.
    Person: My friend Emery. I rode with Emery and another friend of ours to Ruston, La., to a journalism conference, and on the way we sang OutKast and Scissor Sisters. But this was Emery’s favorite song, and she sang it. A lot.
  • “Can’t Tell Me Nothing,” Kanye West.
    Person: Me. Stupid I guess but I’ve gone through a lot of changes and things this year, so I have a song to celebrate myself. And if you ever see me talking to myself in my car while I’m going down the road, I can guarantee you I’m probably singing this song. I sang it like three times already today.

Post your own Thanksgiving playlist and tell us who you’re thankful for.

Leave a Reply

