To ‘Beowulf’ or not to ‘Beowulf’

15 Nov



“Beowulf”
opens this weekend. Are you going?

When I first heard about a “Beowulf” movie, I was excited. It’s a classic tale that really deserves a good film version.

But when I saw the trailer, I was sorely disappointed. It was animated?

OK, yes, I know. It’s not just animated, they’ve done some kind of new technology effects stuff…but that just really doesn’t impress me. Sure, in a few trailers I’ve seen, the effects look amazing. But in others, they look about as good as some of my old video games.

Once in a while I wonder if directors, producers, etc. get so excited about being able to, say, have hobbits battle orcs or make Charlize Theron ugly, that they go overboard on the effects. I’ve always been a less-is-more kinda girl. Give me the beautiful shadows and brilliant dialogue of “Casablanca” over the roaring dragons every day. Not to say I don’t like dragons. I just like a little thinking with my movies.

So should I sit out this weekend? Or pay my $7.50, shut up and enjoy it?

It’s the holidays, so I’m feeling much nicer than I normally do. I say I’ll go.

Scene’s movie buff M. Scott Morris and the Wizard 106 crew are reviewing it for next week’s Scene – which, by the way, will print on Friday, not Thursday. So tune in next Friday to find out what they think about it.

What about you? Let’s talk.

2 Responses to “To ‘Beowulf’ or not to ‘Beowulf’”

  1. Daniel Lee November 17, 2007 at 1:53 pm #

    I wouldn’t recommend Beowulf. It’s not bad, but it’s not good either. It’s just kinda…. there.

    It’s actually kinda like somebody took a mediocre RPG for PS3 and removed all the gameplay elements and just edited the cinematics together.
    I’d recommend staying home and watching Final Fantasy: Advent Children instead.

    And apparently there is a great debate raging in the geekiverse over wether Beowulf is ‘animated’ or not. All the characters were motion-captured and so some claim this is not animation.

    For my two-cents, it IS animation. As far as I can tell, rotoscoping is widely accepted as ‘animation’ so why not mo-cap graphics? The techniques are not so dissimilar.

    Besides, it’s not like they found a real dragon somewhere to put a mo-cap suit on!

  2. sheenabarnett November 19, 2007 at 12:05 pm #

    Hey Daniel,

    Yeah, I’ve heard about that debate. I get their point that it’s “live-action” or whatever, but still – my eyes see animation!

    I wonder, though – some movies were just meant to be seen on the big screen, like “Moulin Rouge!” It looks totally different than it did in the theater. So should I see “Beowulf” in the theater, where it’s probably meant to be seen? I really don’t want to spend $7.50 on it, but I guess that’s better than getting it through Netflix.

    Thanks Daniel!

Leave a Reply

