The Red-Eye Report, Nov. 5

4 Nov

Hey guys and gals. I hope everyone had a great weekend.

Friday night I wanted to stay around my penthouse-style apartment, so I picked up a copy of Eli Roth’s “Hostel Part II.” All I can say is wow. Freakin’ wow! Bijou Phillips is my new crush.

What I really liked about this sequel is that it takes you more in depth into the film’s dark side. You get to see how the Elite Hunting Club works from the top down. There were a couple cornball deaths but, hey, what do you expect with Quentin Tarantino involved? The running time was 90 minutes which is all this movie needed to get the point across. In addition, the DVD is packed full of extra features for movie dorks like me. If you aren’t a fan of the gory “Saw” films but don’t mind a few dismemberments, this is a perfect movie for you.

Saturday I went out to the Stables to see what was going on. Braden Land and Shane McNullen were on hand, playing to a good-sized crowd. I enjoyed Braden’s original music all night. He played some great folk and blues influenced music. I wrestled most of the night with whom I had heard play similar music and then it hit me: Ryan Adams. I’m talking about the laid-back-acoustic Ryan Adams, not the rap or grunge Ryan Adams. If you are looking for some music you can listen to anytime, Braden brings it. Stop by and give him a listen at www.myspace.com/bradenland. I give his performance at the Stables 1 Pint.

That’s it for this week. Don’t forget to send me your pics of what do did this weekend at theredeyereport@yahoo.com and stop by to say “Hello” at my MySpace.

Have a great week and I’ll see you when the sun goes down.

One Response to “The Red-Eye Report, Nov. 5”

  1. Shaun November 8, 2007 at 11:29 pm #

    Nice job as always!!! I wasn’t going to watch the second helping of Hostel after I sat through the first installment at the theatre , but now I think I’ll check it out. Once again a good review of some good musicians, despite the idea some people have that you slam the locals to much! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

