The indescribable moments of your life

26 Oct

So, everyone who thought this Smashing Pumpkins “reunion” was a sham — yeah, you were just showed.

The Smashing Pumpkins (yes, I know, with just two original members, Billy Corgan and Jimmy Chamberlin, but they’re the only two that matter) performed last night at Mud Island in Memphis to a cold and soggy crowd. But it was awesome.

The band tore though tracks off “Zeitgeist,” like “United States,” “That’s the Way (My Love Is),” “Tarantula” and “Doomsday Clock.”

Classics like “Drown” (YES! “Drown”!!!), “Bullet with Butterfly Wings,” “1979,” “Tonight Tonight,” “Today” and “Cherub Rock” got the holy mess beat out of them by the band…they were phenomenal. Everything, every instrument and even Billy’s voice, was wonderful.

One of my favorite moments was during “1979.” Billy played it by himself on an acoustic guitar. It was freezing outside, and there was this weird drizzle/mist coming down, making it even colder. We’re all rocking out to “1979,” though, when Billy messed up the chorus. “Sorry,” he said and went on. He apologized again later and said it was too cold, and then he stopped the song a third time and said, “You know, when I was writing this song, I never thought I’d have to play it in the f****ing North Pole.” Classic.

There’s a lot more I could say here, because the Pumpkins are the band that saved my life when I was 14. I could go on about how I tried to stop crying during “Tonight Tonight,” but y’all don’t want to hear all that. Just trust me when I say the Pumpkins are amazing, and last night was one I’ll never forget.

The set list, which I just found at the band’s site:

“United States”
“Bullet with Butterfly Wings”
“Drown”
“Bring the Light”
“Tonight Tonight”
“Tarantula”
“That’s the Way (My Love Is)”
“Lucky 13”
“Today”
“1979”
“To Sheila”
“Set the Ray to Jerry”
“Stand Inside Your Love”
“Superchrist”
“Doomsday Clock”
“Heavy Metal Machine”
“Cherub Rock” (encore)

One Response to “The indescribable moments of your life”

  1. Ginny October 31, 2007 at 10:12 pm #

    Sheena, I am sorry I don’t know who these people are or what they sing, but I am glad you had a great time at the concert.

Leave a Reply

