Rainy day music

23 Oct

Unless you’ve been living under a rock lately – and even if you have, I suspect you’ve been washed out from under it – you’ve probably noticed that, hey, it’s raining.

I’ve got to give this rain some credit. It’s barely stopped at all, it’s been annoying during the day but nice to sleep to, and I think maybe it helped put out the hardware store fire the other day. Kudos, rain.

My mood and the weather play a big part on what kind of music I play on my iPod. If I got a good amount of sleep and it’s particularly sunny, I throw on peppy new wave and rock out. If I didn’t get enough sleep or if it’s particularly rainy, I turn more towards punk or very low-key folk. But mostly – mostly – it’s Damien Rice. He’s my rainy day staple. If liquid is falling from the sky, Damien is usually playing.

I’ve tried to get out of this usual-ness, but today, seeing as how I badly overslept and it’s still raining, Damien’s getting quite a bit of airplay today.

So, let’s have fun with this and go with a rainy day playlist. I’ll give you some of my picks and you give me some of yours. Capice?

  • “Funny How Time Slips Away” – Willie Nelson (this started my day off quite well this morning)
  • “Delicate” – Damien Rice (preferably the live version from his B-sides comp)
  • “Bad Girl” – The Zakary Thaks
  • “Sorry” – Cut Off Your Hands (anyone else in love with this band? They’re wonderful)
  • “The Pretender” – Foo Fighters (I sooo want to stay inside in my jammies and air guitar to this)
  • “Killing Him” – Amy LaVere
  • “Weed” – 1990s
  • “A Hazy Shade of Winter” – Simon & Garfunkel
  • “LoveStoned/I Think She Knows Interlude” – Justin Timberlake
  • “Go to Sleep” – The Avett Brothers (because, when it’s raining, isn’t that all we want to do?)

Send me yours, we’ll talk.

One Response to “Rainy day music”

  1. Joshua Blake October 24, 2007 at 11:39 am #

    My Top 5 Rainy Day Songs:

    5- CKY, “Close Yet Far”

    4- (hed) pe, “The Meadow”

    3- HIM, “And Love Said No”

    2- Primitive Radio Gods, “Standing Outside a Broken Phonebooth with Change in my Hand”

    1- Led Zeppelin, “When the Levee Breaks”

    I hope theses are up to par.

Leave a Reply

