The Red-Eye Report, Oct. 22

21 Oct

This week in The Red-Eye Report, I would like you introduce my new rating system. It is a “reverse scale” when compared to the usual 5 star ranking. For mine, I will be using pints and will go as follows:

0 Pints – This is one of the greatest bands ever! Drop everything you are doing and hear them now!

1 Pint – A great band. You will need one drink just to get your mojo working.

2 Pints – Still a good band. After a couple of drinks, they will sound awesome.

3 Pints – A decent band. After three drinks, you can stand them.

4 Pints – A below-average band. Keep the tap running, because you’re going to need it.

5 Pints – An absolute monstrosity. I hope you’re at a kegger because that is what it’s going to take to enjoy this band.

Shots will count as half a pint. And before I get two dozen e-mails, I know that there is the same alcohol content in a shot as there is in a pint of beer. I just needed something to count as half so let it go. With all of that out of the way, on to The Red Eye-Report.

Friday night was Chili Fest and there was one heck of a crowd on hand. Local businesses lined Broadway Street to feature their best recipes. With everyone pandering for votes, I felt like a king. Some of these stews were top notch while others fell well short of the mark. One that I really enjoyed was from the On Assignment team. Their chili had just the right mixture of beans and beef. Over at the NEW booth, Nita Mai brought out a very unique “white chili” recipe she had perfected while living in Lenora, Kan. Using navy beans and chicken, this was a first for me and a very welcomed surprise on the night. However, my vote went to the MORA team, which featured a Southwestern style chili by Bill Ricketts. His stew consisted of three types of meat, roasted peppers, and over 30 spices. While I ate my chili, I was bombarded by the sounds of the Spunk Monkees. I’ve seen these guys around Tupelo for 10 years now. And funny enough, they are playing most of the stuff now that they were playing when I was in high school. Nevertheless still have a good night. I give the Spunk Monkees 4 Pints.

Saturday night, I headed over to Fugley’s to listen to a new cover band called Alias. This was their first show but they sounded great for a small three-piece band. After running through a set of Neil Young, Bad Company, Charlie Daniels, Bob Seger and John Mellencamp, they definitely were spot on. If you are looking for a night of great classic rock, Alias is your band. I give them 1 Pint.

That’s all for this week. Next weekend will be my Halloween special. I’ll check out some haunted housed, haunted hallows, graveyards and, of course, a couple of Halloween parties.

Feel free to send in your photos from what you do every weekend at theredeyereport@yahoo.com. I’ll make you famous.

Also, check me out at my MySpace.

Have a great week and I’ll see you when the sun goes down.

3 Responses to “The Red-Eye Report, Oct. 22”

  1. Jeff October 21, 2007 at 4:20 pm #

    Glad to know that Scene Now is condoning alcoholism and that the Red Eye Report keeps going negative on local talent.
    Me Zogt!

  2. Alan October 22, 2007 at 6:14 am #

    I think this is cool. It is nice to see some fun put into these reviews. I enjoyed Chili Fest a lot, but I wasn’t impressed with the band. RedEye Report has given good reviews to lots of local bands. Keep up the good work!

  3. Shaun October 29, 2007 at 3:51 pm #

    It’s nice to see someone actually caring enough to go see the local talent and writing about it. If you’re going to be a critic you can’t just go around saying everybody is great, hence the term critic. I say keep up the good work and definitely look forward to reading the red-eye report in the future.

Leave a Reply

