Of gnomes and men

17 Oct

Happy Wednesday to you.

My head is filled with “Dexter”-y goodness this morning, since I finally checked out the Showtime show last night. I rented the first season from Netflix, and I only got to watch the first two episodes last night, but I might be hooked. Do any of you watch “Dexter”? What do you think about it? That Michael C. Hall is good country people (to borrow from Flannery O’Connor).

On to a few news items and bites:

  • I’ll admit – if I were still in college and the Travelocity gnome were on campus, I’d steal it too.
  • If you want the “Angel” collector’s set today – instead of waiting for the Oct. 30 release date – go to Best Buy.
  • Be on the lookout for a CD featuring the best performances at CBGB.
  • Fans of U2’s “The Joshua Tree” are getting an early Christmas gift. The album’s turning 20, so it will be released Nov. 20 as a single album, a two-CD set, a two-CD/DVD set and as a double vinyl set. Learn more here.
  • Speaking of fans, I’m a fan of Joe Hill’s. His debut novel, “Heart-Shaped Box,” is one of my favorite books ever and it’s a wonderful rock ‘n’ roll book (it’ll also scare the poo out of you). Hill just released “20th Century Ghosts,” a collection of short stories that, according to a review Leslie Criss told me about yesterday, will make you leave the lights on.
  • Indie Memphis’ Soul of Southern Film festival kicks off Friday and goes through the 25th at the Studio on the Square. Films include “Mr. Bones,” “Unbuckling My Bible Belt,” “For the Bible Tells Me So” and Daniel Lee’s “Memphis Zombie Attack!”

Steven Colbert for president!

Leave a Reply

