Marooned

17 Oct

Oh, the tough and hard-scrabble life of an entertainment writer.

Sometimes we get such a wave of entertainment-related things that we just can’t get to them right away, sometimes not even in the next month and sometimes these little nuggets just sit away on our desks, looking pitifully neglected.

Right now, I have at least three CDs waiting for me to hear (but I just received an advance copy of the newest Little Big Town album, and that’s eating all my attention:)), one book to read and one screener copy of a film to watch.

*sigh*

I was just sitting down to consider a blog post when I looked up and saw “Marooned: The Next Generation of Desert Island Discs,” edited by Phil Freeman, on my shelf.

I think I got this back in summer, and I just never got the chance to read it or do much on it. I wanted to give it away as a prize but I never had enough time to develop a worthy competition.

So, kaboom, here it is, in blog form. Enjoy.

“Marooned” is the follow-up book to 1979’s “Stranded.” You’ve played this before – both books take a look at what albums music writers would choose to keep them company if they were stuck on a desert island.

It’s a hard choice to make. What album will keep you company on those hot days and cool, lonely nights? What collection of sounds will keep you sane but also keep you entertained?

I’m going with “Pet Sounds” by the Beach Boys.

Obvious, I suppose. But I’ve written on here before that many songs off “Pet Sounds” are closely tied to my childhood – especially “Caroline No,” “God Only Knows” and “Wouldn’t It Be Nice.” So, there’s that aspect of it, which makes it the ultimate comfort record.

But I’m still impressed by those songs and the other wonderful ones that make up the record. I know some of those songs better than I know myself, but they still surprise me and I hear new things every time.

Besides, “Pet Sounds” is, hands down, the most beautiful record of all time.

The runners up?

“Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness” by the Smashing Pumpkins (the album that saved my life, at 14 anyway)………………”Grace” by Jeff Buckley (the album that continues to save my life)…………….”Abbey Road” by the Beatles (I suppose I should say another one but I’ve been in a big AR mood for the last month)…………..anything by Damien Rice, and anything by M.I.A…for fun. I haven’t listened to an insane amount of MCR lately, but if I had to choose, “The Black Parade” would go…but for now it’s not on the list.

Write me back, tell me yours.

One Response to “Marooned”

  1. Jeff October 17, 2007 at 5:18 pm #

    The Clash–London Calling*
    Big Star–Radio City/Number One Record*
    Motley Crue–Too Fast For Love
    Rolling Stones–Exile on Main Street*
    The Beatles–Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club..

    * denotes ye olde double album

Leave a Reply

