Reader weekend picks …

12 Oct

Here are some reader suggestions for the weekend. Feel free to add yours to the comments below …

Casting Crowns visits the BancorpSouth Arena Saturday night.

College football with Ole Miss and MSU hosting games this weekend.

Check out the music grid in Scene for bands and where they are playing.

Let us know what you will be doing this weekend …

5 Responses to “Reader weekend picks …”

  1. tupelobizbuzz October 12, 2007 at 4:08 pm #

    Howdy from your business friends! I (Carlie in this case) have run into an entertainment problem that I thought you could help me with.

    I bought two tickets today to see Switchfoot and Relient K in Mobile. The tickets are priced at $22.50 each. But by the time I ordered and they were e-mailed to me, I paid $66.65. That’s a few dollars less than the cost of three tickets.

    I looked on the Web site for a breakdown of the differences for the building facility charge, the convenience charge and the order processing charges, but all I found was a paragraph saying tickets are subject to the fees. I’m so frustrated that the cost of this show just skyrocketed in a few minutes.

    Do you know if there is a place locally where I can buy tickets from ticketmaster and avoid all these conveniences charges?

  2. tupelobizbuzz October 12, 2007 at 4:12 pm #

    I must add that I bought my Casting Crowns ticket in person for $15, while ticketmaster lists the price at about $24 online. Yes, I got the group rate, but it just boggles my mind how ticketmaster can tack on so many fees and the artists and venues will still book with them. Has there been any talk about this in the music world?

  3. greg October 12, 2007 at 10:18 pm #

    What is this Lee County Fair, out in Verona?

  4. sheenabarnett October 14, 2007 at 4:37 pm #

    Hey Carlie — I’ve often been frustrated with ticketmaster costs. When I bought Smashing Pumpkins tickets, they were $45 each – so that’s $90, right? By the time all the fees had been added, it totaled about $130 — close to the price of another ticket. It all adds up, though.

    Try the ticket outlet at Album Alley for tickets. I’ve used that outlet lots of times and it’s usually no problem.

    Greg — here’s some info:

    VERONA – The Lee County Fair will run through Saturday, Oct. 20 at the Lee County Agri-Center. Rides, fair food and more. Friday hours are 4 p.m. until midnight; Saturday hours are 10 a.m. until midnight; Sunday hours are noon until 11 p.m.; Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday hours are 4 p.m. until 11 p.m. Admission is $6 adults; $3 ages 3 to 10; ages 3 and younger free. (662) 566-5600

  5. tupelobizbuzz October 15, 2007 at 10:33 am #

    Thanks, Sheena. I’ll check out Album Alley.

Leave a Reply

