Women at Work

11 Oct

If you’ve seen today’s North Mississippi Daily Journal, you’ve seen our special section called Women at Work.

To help celebrate our section, I thought I’d write about my favorite female musicians. I’m not mentioning ALL of them, just a handful. There’s no way I could write about everyone, even though I’d love to.

Feel free to write back to me and tell me about your own.

M.I.A.
A lot of good albums have been released this year, but nothing as good as “Kala” has dropped, and I don’t think anything as good will be released. I don’t know what it is, but M.I.A.’s music continues to befuddle, amuse and amaze me every time I listen to her. She doesn’t just have one sound – she has a million. Listening to M.I.A. makes your blood pump that much faster.

“Bird Flu” by M.I.A.

Janis Joplin
Janis Joplin sounds like a woman. Her throaty, gritty voice sounds like a woman who’s seen it all and done it all, probably for the worse, and has lived talk about it. There will never be another Janis.

“Try” by Janis

Patsy Cline
Patsy Cline sounds the way women want to sound. We don’t always want the hard-time blues of Janis’ voice; we want the powerful beauty of Patsy’s. She can make you laugh, but a lot of times, she makes you cry. Sometimes it’s because of her sad songs, but just the sheer beauty of her voice can bring anyone to tears.

“I’ve Loved and Lost Again” by Patsy Cline

Dixie Chicks
Some Dixie Chicks songs are lighthearted and fun, others dwell on love others make you want to take a stand. That’s the glorious diversity of these three women. They truly are 21st century women. They can reflect on the past, do something about the present and dream about the future.

“Travelin’ Soldier” by the Dixie Chicks

Kelly Clarkson
Kelly Clarkson is a force to be reckoned with. As the first “American Idol” winner, she had an option – ride that wave as long as possible and just be an entertainer (obviously the easier choice), or become an artist and shed her sugary-sweet image. She had to fight to have her co-penned album, “My December,” released. Critics didn’t fall for it and it didn’t sell well, but I have a feeling that years from now it will be considered an important milestone for her as an artist. The album reflects a woman who is proud, scared, angry and lacking in self-esteem – in other words, it’s the perfect reflection of a woman in her 20s. It isn’t pretty, but it’s true. And for releasing that truth, no matter how raw and ugly, Clarkson should be commended.

“Sober” by Kelly Clarkson

There are so many other favorites of mine I’m not going into…Debbie Harry, Gladys Knight, Cheryl Lynn, Cyndi Lauper, Carole King, kd lang, Annie Lennox, Loretta Lynn, Diana Ross, Mary J. Blige, Gwen Stefani, Dolly Parton, Tina Turner, Poe, Shirley Manson, Stevie Nicks, Missy Elliott…..but I’ll leave it to these ladies.

Who are your favorites and why?

One Response to “Women at Work”

  1. Daniel Lee October 11, 2007 at 7:55 pm #

    Some of my favorite female musicians include (but are not limited to) Joan Jett/The Runaways, Cordell Jackson, Wanda Jackson, Poison Ivy Rorschach (from the Cramps), L7, The Donnas, Enya, Sarah Brightman, Madonna, Siouxsie Sioux, Bjork, Lita Ford, Amy Dumas, Exene Cervenka, Fiona Apple, Wendy O. Williams…and yes…even the Go Gos.

    Plus Debbie Gibson for kitsch value.

Leave a Reply

