Radiohead and things not Radiohead-related

10 Oct

It’s kind of like the day of a Harry Potter book release, and you’ve read nary a book or seen nary a movie.
Kind of like when all your ‘Buffy’ friends laugh when one of them says, “You’re not wrong,” and you just don’t get it.

That’s me today. Everyone – from Rolling Stone to Pitchfork to probably even your mom – is talking about the release of the new Radiohead record, “In Rainbows.”

I’ve tried for years to get into Radiohead and it’s never fully happened. I like a few songs here and there. I understand and respect Radiohead. But I’ve never heard anything that’s made me turn the stereo up to an obscene level and revel in the madness. I feel kinda weird about that – in a way, I don’t care and I figure their greatness will get to me eventually; in another way, I feel horribly guilty. But those are my own issues. Weird, though, isn’t it?

I do, however, love how this album was released. Read more about the album here. If you want to discuss the album, go for it — I’ll just stay quiet.:)

Alright, onto things I’m learning about – TV. As I said earlier, I spent the last few years virtually TV-less. I worked nights, so the idea of “primetime TV” was above my head. So I’ve kept to my (mostly Joss Whedon-created) DVDs, watched “American Idol,” “The Simpsons” and “Family Guy” when I could and called off all TV.
But I’ve been out of college now for more than a year so I guess I should get myself into an actual “schedule” like an adult, right? Uh, yeah, sure. I’m hardly ever home at night but I’m trying to change that. So, I decided to pick only one or two shows to really follow this year. My first great find (a week late, I know) is “Pushing Daisies.”
I know a lot of folks have hyped up this show, but it’s for good reason. It’s smart, funny, fast-paced, colorful, and best of all, narrated. The second episode airs tonight on ABC.
You can watch the first episode at ABC.com. Or, what’s even cooler, you can read the first episode in comic book-form.

Speaking of TV, the only other show I’m really excited about is “Ghost Hunters” on Sci-Fi. It’s one of the few reality shows I can handle, and it’s about ghosts. Even better, “Pushing Daisies” and “Ghost Hunters” are both on Wednesdays, so the only night I have to stay home is Wednesday. 🙂

Other things I’m excited about – a new PostSecret book – “A Lifetime of Secrets” – has hit stores.
I was introduced to PostSecret earlier this year when my friend Will sent me “My Secret: A PostSecret Book” for my birthday (perhaps I will get the new book next year?:)).
PostSecret started in 2004.  Basically, you mail in your anonymous secret and it’s posted online, or in a book, for the world to see.  Some of them are funny, some are sad, some are disturbing. Either way, they are all fully human and make for incredible reading.

By the way, visit our Biz Buzz for an interesting piece called “College students heart Apple, Target.” It’s scary how on-target that story is.

2 Responses to “Radiohead and things not Radiohead-related”

  1. Cliff Burns October 10, 2007 at 10:30 am #

    I’ve been shopping around an occult thriller for the past year and editors are saying “this isn’t the type of thing we publish”…and yet shows like “GhostHunters” and “Medium”, etc. continue to proliferate and find success. It’s weird…

    I loved Frank Warren’s POST SECRET book and the insights it gave into the minds of ordinary people (is there such a thing? is the question one is left wondering after closing the tome).

    I am a Radiohead fan and I like what they’re doing with their new release, bypassing the normal distribution routes and embracing the new technology. Can I recommend another artist you might enjoy? Aqualung has a Radiohead-ish type of feel, perhaps a bit more eccentric but musically right on par. Check it out…

  2. sheenabarnett October 10, 2007 at 10:36 am #

    Howdy Cliff — yeah, isn’t that weird? Everywhere you turn there’s a ghost-y related show (the two you mentioned, plus “Ghost Whisperer” and all those psychic shows), plus now major networks are investing in werewolf and vampire shows. Strangeness.

    You know I haven’t heard much Aqualung. I heard like one song, a while back, but I haven’t heard much else. I’ll look him up later today — thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

