Hear this now

11 Sep

I love you, dear blog readers, so I want you to hear good music. So go listen to “Me Myself and (I)” by Darren Hayes.

Once he releases the video online – in maybe about a week – I’m going to post it up here. This is really a song you should hear because it’s just that good.

Color me shocked, too. I came up on it in the weirdest way, but I’m glad I did.

You may remember Hayes as the lead singer for Savage Garden, who churned out hits in the late 90s like “Truly, Madly, Deeply,” “I Want You” and “I Knew I Loved You.”

I was a teenager when SG was at its height, and I followed the group’s every move. Then the band broke up, and Hayes went solo. I bought his first solo album, “Spin,” which I enjoyed fairly enough. His second album, “The Tension and the Spark,” was released only overseas, so I picked up a couple import singles when I found them. It’s been so long since I last checked in on Mr. Hayes that I had no idea he’d split from his label, started his own (Powdered Sugar) and just released a double album called “This Delicate Thing That We’ve Made.”

I listened to a couple samples from the album on iTunes. It sounds interesting – at least from those 30 second clips. I’ve heard a lot of different sounds, and it sounds like he’s really playing tricks with his voice on a couple tracks (like “Me Myself and I” and “Bombs Up In My Face”).

Then I read this incredible review from Amazon.com, that says, among other things: “Darren Hayes is not only one of the finest (if not most underrated) singers and songwriters of our generation, he is also a master of reinvention…..His old record label, Columbia, must be kicking themselves….The album is a double-disc pop opus. It is a deeply felt, moving, and joyous celebration of life and of pop music…It seems inspired by, and certainly deserves to be regarded alongside, albums such as Madonna’s ‘Ray of Light’, U2’s ‘Achtung Baby’, Prince’s ‘LoveSexy’, and Peter Gabriel’s ‘So’…..The UK’s NME Magazine called him a genius. They weren’t wrong.”

Wow.

I intend to buy “This Delicate Thing We’ve Made” sometime before the week’s up, and once I do, I’ll post a review here. I bought “Me Myself and (I)” and “On the Verge of Something Wonderful.” I’ve listened to “Something Wonderful” maybe three and a half times…but I’ve lost count on how many times I’ve listened to “MMI.”

“Me Myself and (I)” has been likened to Prince, and you can definitely hear it. Very funky, very pop, very fresh. There are literally so many different things I like about this song that I couldn’t list them all. But, my most favorite part is the last like 10 seconds. Seriously. Listen to the whole thing, because even if you don’t like it right away, it might grow on you as you hear it…and the entire last minute is heavenly.

If you want to hear a few full songs from “This Delicate Thing We’ve Made” (“MMI” is, unfortunately, not one of them), Hayes has posted three videos on his Web site (click on his name in the first sentence).

Yay new music!

Leave a Reply

