A question of morals

9 Sep

Alright, ladies and gents. I’ve got a quandary and I’m looking to my dear blog readers to help me out. But promise me you won’t throw cyber tomatoes or lettuce at me for asking this.

Should I, or should I not, go see Fall Out Boy at Mud Island?

I know, I know! But hear me out.

Fall Out Boy is one of the most dividing bands in music today – either you hate them, or you like then but won’t admit it to anyone. And I mean anyone.

I happen to really like them. It took a long while, though. “Sugar, We’re Going Down” was EVERYWHERE, and I hated it for that reason alone. Then the band released “Dance Dance” as a single, and I couldn’t resist. After I bought “From Under the Cork Tree,” I ended up listening to “Sugar” more than I did “Dance.”

I then went back and bought “Take This to Your Grave,” the band’s first LP, which I loved. I’m still not completely sold on “Infinity on High” but that’s just because I’m still mostly listening to the band’s first two. There are some problems with the record, but at the same time, they’re just dumb things young rock stars do, and heck, if I were a young rock star, I’d do them. So I can’t really blame the guys. To quote the title of a quite excellent Strokes song, you only live once.

Fall Out Boy’s music is like Twinkies – overdose on them and they’ll kill you, probably quicker than you’d expect.  But at the same time, what a fun way to go. A couple listens to a Fall Out Boy song and it gets in you. Sometimes in a good way, sometimes in a bad, but either way, it’s there – and not even half of the stuff on radio today does that, so there you go.

And I know the band is absolutely horrendous live. But I just want to say I shared a couple minutes with Pete Wentz – even if he does make me a little nauseous  – and I definitely want to get a gander of Patrick Stump. He’s my favorite FOB character, mostly because he could be a Care Bear cousin.

At the same time, do I really want to show my face at an FOB show? And what does one wear?

What do you think? Are you going? Are you staying home? Why/why not? Help a chick out here.

Sidenote: I’m debating whether to even bring up the VMA’s. I’ve been here at work so I missed most of it, but I did catch the most important part – Britney. You really can’t make any more jokes about her – that was just a cry for help. But, if you want to discuss any VMA action, feel free.

2 Responses to “A question of morals”

  1. Daniel Lee September 14, 2007 at 1:56 pm #

    I think you answered your own question. You already said you liked them. So if the question is one of shame or humiliation – you’ve already committed an act that would bring whatever shame or humiliation comes with an admission of fandom toward Fallout Boy. After that, it seems being seen at the show would be small potatoes.

    Especially in light of the fact that everybody else at the show would most likely also be Fallout Boy fans. (It’s unlikely…but I suppose there may be a few people who would buy tickets just to yell “You Suck” and give them the finger. I’ve actually seen this done before.)

    So it’s really more of a question of economics. Is seeing the band live (in light of the fact that you stated they were terrible) worth the undoubtably high ticket price (and additional Ticketbastard ‘convenience charges’, parking, gas, food, etc)?
    Would you be getting enough value for your dollar?

    Only you can answer that.

  2. sheenabarnett September 16, 2007 at 10:29 am #

    Hey Daniel…thanks for the comment! Yeah, I pretty well did answer it, didn’t I? 🙂 Thanks…

Leave a Reply

