Your song

30 Aug

For some reason I’ve been lightly dancing around the idea of songs that represent people.

What song says “you”?

I used to always want Elton John’s “Tiny Dancer” to be “my” song. I took dance lessons for forever (though I’m not exactly “tiny,” but I’m not so bad:)). And the line “you’ll marry a music man” had better come true one day.
But “my” song just happened up on me a few weeks ago. I was driving through Tupelo with my iPod on shuffle, and “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” by the Beach Boys came on.

The Beach Boys were my first favorite band. When I was like four my mom bought me their greatest hits, a double album full of some of the best songs out there, like “Good Vibrations,” “Heroes and Villains,” “Help Me Rhonda” and more.

Even as a kid, “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” really meant a lot to be. “Wouldn’t it be nice if we were older/then we wouldn’t have to wait so long.” Even as a kid, I was quite the romantic, so dreamy, wishy lyrics like that spoke right to my little heart.

When it came on my iPod last week, I had a strange feeling. It was almost like I was hearing it again for the first time. And it was like it has always been – my dreamy song from my childhood.

I think this song is me. I’m pretty dreamy and hopeful, and that song is, too. I know this song better than I know myself, and I find an immense amount of comfort in it. When I hear “Wouldn’t It Be Nice,” I feel like I’m four again, lying on my stomach beside my record player, dreaming of a Prince Charming and watching the record spin.

Click here to hear some behind the scenes talk about “Wouldn’t It Be Nice.”

What song is you? Talk to me.

Leave a Reply

