Let’s talk about our children

28 Aug

By children I mean our iPods, Zunes, iriver, PSP, Zens.

If you’re anything like me, your portable digital music player is like your child. Think about it. You fill it with good music so it’ll be fat and happy. You protect it with nice clothing in the form of cover (and how much you spend on covers can be, for better or worse, a status symbol). If you feed it too much junk, you’ll have to clear out the yucky waste. And, every so often, it misbehaves.

I’ve been accused of being a little passionate about my darling black iPod.

I saw the movie “Disturbia” with someone who happened to hate music (yes, such a horrendous creature exists), and he actually made fun of the movie when Kale said this about his iPod: “That’s 60 gigs of my life.”

Of course I defended the movie (ONLY on that one point…the rest of it just killed off my unassuming brain cells). I don’t know about y’all, but my iPod – and before it, my Dell DJ – is really an important part of my life.

I’ve lost a great many things over the years – my keys, my camera, sometimes my phone – but NEVER my iPod. It goes with me everywhere. It’s not unheard of for me to spend at least a good hour or two (or three…or four) every night working on it, adding new songs and getting rid of stuff that somehow ended up on there.

Right now I’m in need of sprucing up my only playlist, “I’m a kid again!” I created the playlist not long after I turned 24 earlier this year. I had to work on my birthday, so I was a bit grumpy. To cheer myself up, I listened to everything my cousin and I danced and sang to when we were kids. So, 80s and early 90s stuff is what fills that playlist.

I’ve thought of a couple other playlists, like Rainy Days (with lots of Damien Rice), Grr (with lots of Kittie and System of a Down), Swoony Love Songs (with stuff from the “Moulin Rouge!” and “Romeo + Juliet” soundtracks), etc.

Last week, out of the blue, my dad bought me a REALLY nice case for my iPod. I’d bought a cheap one that didn’t cover the screen, and I told him that I was worried about it. So, kablooey, last Friday he brings me a very nice one. My darling iPod – which I’ve named Queen of the Jungle, by the way – is now totally covered and very protected. I’m all impressed.

And here’s some news for our discussion: Rumors abound that Apple will announce a new iPod soon – like next week. Hm!

So, there were a few random musings about my iPod…. Tell me about you mp3 player. Let’s talk.

Leave a Reply

